Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-31-2007, 01:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 59
sump again redoing

ok guys as you may know i have a 55 gallon reef with about 3 inch ls and 70 lbs lr for about 5 years now. 2 power heads one aquaclear filter and a cpr bakpak 2 skimmer,

i want to start another fuge/ sump with chaeto and put the skimmer and heater ect in the sump.

i had a rio 2100 pump for the return but i had an impossible time adjusting the flow restriction to match the syphon going into the tank ,. it would empty the sump gradualy and starve the syphon.

i am pushing water about 5 feet up from the sump and i have a overflow syphon as my drain my question is can anyone suggest a good pump they use? or recommend? and how does one get a grip on flow rates from pumps to equal the syphon drain?

thx
__________________

__________________
MorayMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 01:47 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Re: sump again redoing

Moved to hardware forum:

Quote:
Originally Posted by MorayMadness
it would empty the sump gradualy and starve the syphon.
That's contradictory. If your sump was emptying out it's a sign your overflow can't keep up and you need to restrict flow more. Either that or you overflow simply lost siphon or got clogged somehow. Did you have an overflow of the main tank?

What is your overflow rated at for GPH? If not sure how many holes, how large are they, and is it an internal or external overflow. The Rio 2100 is rated at less then 400 GPH with a 4ft head so I don't understand why the overflow couldn't keep up.

You need a pump that either under performs the overflow slightly or you need to T off your return with ball valves and have one go back to your sump to control flow. See photo below (which is also a link)

__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 05:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 59
sorry for the confusion , i didnt have an overflow when i had a sump i simply made a syphon what i noticed was with no restriction on the return pump, the water level in the sump dropped but maybe this was because i didnt have an overflow just a regular syphon draining the tank?

now if i want a fuge.. with chaeto ect should i use the rio 2100 i have? sorry again i am pushing 4 feet headhight. would that be too much flow?
__________________
MorayMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 05:37 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
The Rio you have is fine for a fuge. You don't want too much movement in a fuge anyways. I'd get a proper overflow though and not just a siphon hose.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 05:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 59
i have this system setup not shown exactly overflow that i am setting up with the u tube syphon . i see now how this setup works. why it faulted when i didnt have an overflow now with my overflow. . can i just leave my rio on full purge to the tank ? im just trying to guesstimate the equal flow rate of my syphon .
__________________
MorayMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 06:13 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Most single U tube overflows are rated for 600 GPH. Your pump does less then that (with a 5ft head) so you should be fine. External siphon driven overflows can fail from time to time but usually they perform fairly well.

Having a Auto Top Off Controller in the sump is important in case the overflow does stop working so it can turn off the pump.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 07:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 59
can you recommend any good overflows? that are not tube style?>
__________________
MorayMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 09:35 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Any overflow can loose siphon (which is why you should have a controller) but I prefer the CPR overflows which can be continuously siphoned. CPR also has a decent forum if you need help.

If your happy with your U tube overflow stick with it If upgrading in the future consider a drilled tank which is much easier then external overflows.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 06:47 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 59
is this a good overflow by cpr and price? considering 4ft headway with the rio 2100

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-CPR-CS90-DX-...QQcmdZViewItem

thanks for any input. !
__________________

__________________
MorayMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redoing Aquarium bhammer Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-26-2009 07:26 PM
Redoing my 55 Retaks Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 06-12-2008 02:51 PM
completly redoing my 55 Meredith Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-24-2005 11:15 PM
Redoing tank! AlonelyCody Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 05-09-2004 12:04 AM
redoing a tank prisoner1572 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 04-07-2004 05:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.