Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-16-2010, 08:06 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
+1 for using glass. Silicone actually sticks to glass. It doesn't stick to acrylic very well.
__________________

__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 06:58 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
be careful with all measurements on homemade overflows,all acrylic must be cut square for cement to work.have you looked at the eshopps sython pipe overflows? they work great,well priced,I've used one for about 6 months,no need for a primer pump,very quiet, the only time it gets noisey is when the return pump filter needs cleaning,but also if the return pump isn't powerful enough this will make any overflow noisey.a quick fix for noise is to put a small piece of hose down the pipe to allow air in .
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 09:19 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
capj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 581
David: I'm making my overflow out of PVC pipe so hopefully I won't be cementing acrylic. But thanks for the tip on eshopps siphon pipe overflows, yes they're not that bad priced. I will look into them. Thank again
__________________
Carla
capj64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 09:26 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
capj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 581
I'm back to a 10g sump...the footprint listed for the skimmer was wrong. It only takes up about 6 x 8 instead of 6 x 12. But I do have a 20g available now that my daughter bought our land hermit crabs a new 20g long. Which also freed up another 10g, so last night I started reef tank...but that gonna be a different thread, lol
__________________
Carla
capj64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 09:45 AM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
You are going to want a much larger sump then 10g for your 150g. You want as much room as you can in case you ever need to drop in stuff like new reactors, larger skimmer, or more refugium space. . Plus even at 150g the extra water volume is never a bad thing.
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 09:50 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
capj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 581
Jimbo: At this point I'm thinking that I'm going to use my current 29g tank to start off with on my 150g build. Either move up to a larger sump when I can afford it or add a separate refugium or skimmer tank. I should have room if I do end up doing the later.

I finally decided to use a 20g sump for my current 29g and 10g reef. I ordered the glass dividers and picked it up Friday. Spent the morning cleaning and preparing the tank, unwrapped the glass and every piece was the wrong size I'll reorder it Monday...
__________________
Carla
capj64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 10:37 AM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
That stinks! Do you have a local Ace Hardware or something similar? I go there to get all my glass cut, takes just a couple minutes and its really cheap.
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 08:26 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
capj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 581
We have a local ACE but I was having a window manufacturer cut if for me at no charge. My husband works there and they cut it out of trash glass I just have to wait until they're not too busy to cut it.

Oh, and it was my fault it was the wrong size
__________________

__________________
Carla
capj64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
acrylic, glass, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump Baffles SkinnyPete DIY Projects 4 12-14-2005 03:19 PM
How 'tight' should I get glass baffles cut to fit diy sump? 20 20 DIY Projects 4 10-03-2005 09:45 AM
Acrylic or Glass for a DIY sump WarDaddy DIY Projects 6 08-18-2005 11:23 AM
baffles for DIY sump Dr.Nate General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 05-18-2005 07:13 PM
gluing acrylic baffles to a glass sump? guitarded DIY Projects 2 12-16-2004 10:46 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.