Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-10-2011, 09:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 8
Sump Build

I am going to sound like a total noob, but I was trying to figure out what most people do to get water out of the aquarium down to the sump.
I would rather not have to alter the actual display tank. e.g. cutting holes for plumbing. I was thinking of using one pump to take water out and another of equal gph to return the water would this work. I would also like to know what would be a good skimmer for a 30 gallon marine tank preferably one that goes in the sump. I have a ten gallon tank that I would like to use as a sump but I can buy a 20 gallon if that would be better suited to fit all the necessary equipment.
Thanks,
d0ublemur
__________________

__________________
d0ublemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 09:40 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion. You donr have to cut holes in the tank. You can get a HOB overflow that will go to your sump. Here is a good three part link on sumps.

Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sumps, Part I by Greg Taylor - Reefkeeping.com
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 10:32 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 8
So could I use two pumps of equal gph because that would be better
__________________
d0ublemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 10:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
Here is a link to a diy pvc overflow that I made myself and am currently using Diy pvc overflow
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 10:50 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 8
What kind of hose would run down to the sump just some normal silicone tubing
__________________
d0ublemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 10:52 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
I actually plumbed mine with all hard pvc but you can get flexible pvc and IMO I think it would be alot easier to use
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:06 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 8
Also I dont know if you have ever heard of it or if it is common but could I put two pumps of equal gph: one to go to the sump and one to return to display
__________________
d0ublemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HUKIT's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by d0ublemur View Post
Also I dont know if you have ever heard of it or if it is common but could I put two pumps of equal gph: one to go to the sump and one to return to display
What if the return pump in the sump failed?
__________________
Those Who Lack The Courage Will Always Find A Philosophy To Justify It.

HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:20 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 8
Good point thanks i will use a overflow.
__________________
d0ublemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 08:40 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
IMO when set up right a overflow is just as good as a drilled tank
__________________

__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can somebody help me sump build :S westy101 DIY Projects 18 03-14-2011 10:24 PM
Sump, will this work before I build it jaylam DIY Projects 12 08-23-2010 10:28 AM
help with sump build xsmoker_3 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 27 07-02-2010 01:50 PM
Sump Build: 10-15Gallon dannyb Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 2 11-14-2009 08:43 AM
Help me build my sump h8z2luze General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 09-08-2009 02:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.