Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-21-2007, 01:02 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Sump/fuge size?

I am planning on a sump/fuge for my 125G.
The space I have available is, 35" long x 16" deep x 20" high.
1. Will I be able to fit a skimmer in there?
2. What would be a good sized tank for this?

Thanks,
--Scott
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 01:45 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Largest average sized tank for that space is a 29 gal (30 1/4 x 12 1/2 x 18 3/4) but you could custom build one to match better. I assume the 35" long is due to how the stand is setup but you could use two tanks and have them connected to increase your water volume and/or for a fuge.

The 20" high is going to limit your skimmer selection. Most 125 gal stands are 30" high so I'm confused why you're limited to 20".
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 02:43 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I am not really limited on the height. What I did was mounted my MH ballasts on the left side of the back of my tank, that's where the 35" long comes from. I spaced the ballasts out to deruce heat, but can move them over to the left more to add space on the length, the width is a tiny bit over 17". I just wanted to put out those number as a bare minimum. Sorry for the confusion.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 03:41 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Can you fit a 55 gal in there? That would give you more then enough room even though a 29 gal would still work. As you know the larger the better so I'd try to get the largest possible sump in the space you have.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 03:51 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Yeah, I saw a 55 G at petco, with the filter, hood and some other stuff for $150. I don't need the all the other stuff but thought that was a decen price. I'll have to see if I can move enought around to fit the 55 but I also wanted an auto topoff unit in there.....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minimum Size HOB fuge to grow pods? SeeDemTails Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 05-12-2006 05:14 PM
One more fuge/sump ? natman2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 09-23-2005 09:27 AM
Fuge/Sump size ebius Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 06-15-2005 09:33 PM
Hang on tank fuge size???? billy302 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 03-21-2005 07:23 PM
Sump or Fuge? Natterjak Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-11-2005 06:05 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.