Sump? 'fuge? Wet-dry filter? So confused!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

20 20

Aquarium Advice Freak
In case you hadn't figured out by the topic, I'm new to saltwater. I'm considering starting up a 120 gallon reef, and have been looking around for information, and stumbled on a few forums, this one seems 'the best' (yeah, that was your basic 'gratuitous' comment to get help...). I've seen lots of stuff about the setup of reef tanks, and am a bit confused, and can't seem to find the 'simple answers' I'm looking for. Basically, how are those 3 related, are they somehow the same (don't think so), can they all be hooked up in a reef setup and how, do I need them all, etc. Would/should/how would I also hook up a protein skimmer and a UV sterilizer. I've been trying to find a basic diagram of how they would all hook together, and can't seem to find anything. Maybe I just haven't looked hard enough, eh? ;) :?:

It depends on the skimmer and the UV.

Skimmers most of them run on a pump of some sort, so all you need to do is hook a pump up like the skimmer's instructions tell you to.

As far as the UV most UVs are inline (Having an in and out hose), so you can either have a pump pumping to the uv then having the water come back to the tank, or you can have a pump pumping the water from the sump to the uv and back, or whatever.

A sump is basically an extention of your tank, a seperate tank with water flowing back and forth from the main tank to the sump. Good place to hide your heaters and stuff.

A fuge is sortof like a sump but built to grow algeas and stuff.

Wet dry filter is just a type of filter, I think its possible to put one of these in a sump but im not sure. Maybe someone else would help you on the wet dry

a wet/dry is a sump....both wet/dry and fuge is sumps...they are just set up different