Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-29-2011, 10:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 429
sump help...

So I've got a functioning 29 gal display tank and am looking to turn it into a sump for the 125 gal that I just got. I've never done this before so any pointers or diagrams of a good sump design and the plumbing would be great! Thanks for your help in advance.
__________________

__________________
jwalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 10:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Chooch4044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Terre Haute In
Posts: 36
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4188419657.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	67679



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2286684914.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	63.2 KB
ID:	67680



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3381322067.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	63.1 KB
ID:	67681


Here's a couple of pics of my 150gl I just set up
__________________

__________________
Chooch4044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 10:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 429
Thanks that helps get the concept down. Is that something you just knew how to do or did you follow a plan?
__________________
jwalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 11:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Chooch4044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Terre Haute In
Posts: 36
This is my second tank set up so I learned a few tricks from my mistakes. One piece of advice I can give is to make sure you have valves on the drains as well as the returns, this way if you ever have to service any part you can simply switch the water off to that location. Also watch a few you tube videos. Good luck
__________________
Chooch4044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 09:40 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
wapparia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 81
If you have a look at my thread called "new tank set up" you will see my sump idea. I wanted a simple sump with limited pipes and pumps. It is currently working excellent and didnt cost the world to build.
__________________
wapparia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 10:51 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
paulweck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 533
Here's a picture of my new sump. I didn't like the first design I made so I made another one and ill switching them out tonight here's a pic of my 1st one and the new one
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20111230_095033.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	59.0 KB
ID:	67758   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20111230_095057.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	62.4 KB
ID:	67759  

paulweck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 05:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
I really can not understand why people insist on putting all their power points right next to their sumps,this is so dangerous,I know you like to hide them but at least have them enclosed in a water proof enclosure!!!!!!
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 06:14 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 08:59 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 429
The thing I'm confuses on is just where all the plumbing comes from/goes to.
__________________
jwalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 09:59 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 429
And do I want a drilled main tank or do I want to run an overflow?
__________________

__________________
jwalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overflow/15g sump: tons of questions! victor.m DIY Projects 5 10-23-2011 11:42 PM
To Sump or To Not to Sump? bruinsbro1997 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 09-26-2011 12:27 AM
To Sump or Not to Sump - Freshwater MrBeta General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 09-17-2011 02:56 PM
To Sump or not to Sump? wrmiller Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-20-2011 05:02 PM
Sump pump size donh DIY Projects 7 07-21-2011 03:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.