sump help...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jwalsh

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I've got a functioning 29 gal display tank and am looking to turn it into a sump for the 125 gal that I just got. I've never done this before so any pointers or diagrams of a good sump design and the plumbing would be great! Thanks for your help in advance.

Thanks that helps get the concept down. Is that something you just knew how to do or did you follow a plan?

This is my second tank set up so I learned a few tricks from my mistakes. One piece of advice I can give is to make sure you have valves on the drains as well as the returns, this way if you ever have to service any part you can simply switch the water off to that location. Also watch a few you tube videos. Good luck

If you have a look at my thread called "new tank set up" you will see my sump idea. I wanted a simple sump with limited pipes and pumps. It is currently working excellent and didnt cost the world to build.

Here's a picture of my new sump. I didn't like the first design I made so I made another one and ill switching them out tonight here's a pic of my 1st one and the new one

Attachments

• ForumRunner_20111230_095033.jpg
    ForumRunner_20111230_095033.jpg
    59 KB · Views: 106
  • ForumRunner_20111230_095057.jpg
    ForumRunner_20111230_095057.jpg
    62.4 KB · Views: 82
I really can not understand why people insist on putting all their power points right next to their sumps,this is so dangerous,I know you like to hide them but at least have them enclosed in a water proof enclosure!!!!!!

The thing I'm confuses on is just where all the plumbing comes from/goes to.