Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-23-2011, 01:13 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hillage View Post
I'd recommend at leasst skimming over this. It explains what a sump or wet/dry is, the differences between a wet/dry and a sump, and why a sump would be good. Truthfully I'd go with a sump because of the advantages, but if you can't afford it or don't want to shell out the cash for it, then go ahead and use the wet/dry. They both would work, but I think the sump has more advantages to using it.

Great link, it helped alot. It would seem that the wet/dry is more of a fish only type filter. If I wanted to use a tank as the sump what would I need to do? Do they make them already sectioned off cause I'm not much of a DIY kinda girl. lol
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 01:16 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Thanks for this thread, I had a lot of questions as well. Seems like a DIY sump would be really easy to make, and maybe fun.

I get water going down in and water going back up. But can someone link me or explain what happens in the sump? Should it be compartmentalized? If so, what are the compartments? How could filter media be used in there?
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 01:16 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey View Post
Great link, it helped alot. It would seem that the wet/dry is more of a fish only type filter. If I wanted to use a tank as the sump what would I need to do? Do they make them already sectioned off cause I'm not much of a DIY kinda girl. lol
two 10g rubbermaid's = sections
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 01:19 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Hillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 151
If you look around some people do sell them pre made. I'm probably doing it myself because its a little cheaper, but if you don't want to do it then go ahead and buy one. I don't see any problems with it. =)

For a DIY sump, you just get a tank, some glass/acrylic, and some silicone. Just silicone in the glass/acrylic according to the design you want. Then, just get the water to the sump in any way you feel fit. The wat will do its own thing and get to the other side, then just have a pump sitting there ready for some water.

For a pre-made approach, after getting the tank, just get your other equipment, and get the water to the tank. Have a pump taking it back up as well.

AFAIK, when starting up the tank, you fill up the sump to the level where you want it (usually just over the walls of the different sections), then you fill you display tank until it starts to go down the tubes to the sump. That way you have the right amount of water. Then you start up the pump, and the whole system gets moving. Also, doing it this way makes sure you don't have too much water, reducing the chances of a flood if the pump fails to return water.
__________________
Hillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 01:20 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I think I'm willing to go a bit higher level than rubbermaids. I was thinking a tank underneath with compartments. But how big of a tank? I know the bigger the better but I'll already have 125g of water so any mistakes can be fixed pretty easy I'd think. How much water volume extra would I need?

And heres a very good question, is it possible to run a reef with no sump? I mean if I had like 200lbs or more of rock and enough sand. I've seen it online as a totally natural way to keep a reef. I will probably be getting a reactor soon for GFO on my 55g so I could use that on a sumpless setup to run carbon or whatever I wanted.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 01:21 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
heres the one i have i got, its premade i assume it holds about 10G Aquarium Wet Dry Filters: Aqueon ProFlex Sump Filtration System at FosterandSmithaquatics.com
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 01:22 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
one problem i need to figure out is how do i do water changes do i change the water in the sump? or do i shut everything down and do it from the main tank
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 01:24 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Hillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottayy View Post
I get water going down in and water going back up. But can someone link me or explain what happens in the sump? Should it be compartmentalized? If so, what are the compartments? How could filter media be used in there?

This picture shows the overall system, and then shows the sump design. Yoo have it come in on one side, and get to the other through different types of filtration. Here they have some rocks and pot scrubbers (i think thats what they are) for bacteria, and to filter out solids. Then you have a refugium area (potted plants section). This is good for bacteria and other stuff (I'm still learning about refugiums). You can then put in your equipment and stuff, and then pump it back to the tank.
__________________
Hillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 01:30 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Hillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackteck View Post
one problem i need to figure out is how do i do water changes do i change the water in the sump? or do i shut everything down and do it from the main tank
If I were you, I'd change the water in the sump. The only problem with that is making sure the equipment has enough water to keep running. If it doesn't, then I'd shut off whatever you need to in order to make sure they don't get damaged.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carey View Post
I think I'm willing to go a bit higher level than rubbermaids. I was thinking a tank underneath with compartments. But how big of a tank? I know the bigger the better but I'll already have 125g of water so any mistakes can be fixed pretty easy I'd think. How much water volume extra would I need?

And heres a very good question, is it possible to run a reef with no sump? I mean if I had like 200lbs or more of rock and enough sand. I've seen it online as a totally natural way to keep a reef. I will probably be getting a reactor soon for GFO on my 55g so I could use that on a sumpless setup to run carbon or whatever I wanted.
For me, I may be getting a tank as big as yours. I built a stand to hold a sump underneath, but then realized the DT can actually be used as a sump. I can get something as large as 170g. So, I though about my 55g and using it as a sump. For you (and for me) a 55g would work great for something in the 120 area. I might be getting that 170g ( ) and would probably still use my 55g. I can't remember the rough guestimate on how big you want a sump to be compared to the DT, but 55g would probably be good (and be worth actually having). I've seen smaller, and I've seen bigger. No worries, there isn't an exact amount defined. =)
__________________
Hillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 02:58 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Seeing as how this could be fun and a relatively cheap DIY project, I think I'm going to research a lot on sumps and build my own. I'll make a thread :P This could be a little ways off though.

Why have an overflow box. What would be wrong with siphoning directly to the sump?
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dosing for Dummies! zenkatydid Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 11-20-2006 07:53 PM
MH for dummies? SkinnyPete Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 12-18-2005 11:23 PM
Saltwater for Dummies DeFeKt Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 09-02-2005 11:46 AM
Lighting for Dummies hairy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 10-11-2004 09:20 PM
Netting for Dummies? deli_conker Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 12-12-2003 08:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.