Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 09-15-2005, 04:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Taunton Mass
Posts: 8
Sump question

Hi all,

I just finished reading about sumps from the article posted on this site. Let me say that article was very helpful and very well written. I had heard of sumps being attached to a wet/dry filter system and having a skimmer set up in the sump. Can the sump be set up without a wet dry system? The article mentioned that the heater can also be put in the sump as well. Will this really maintain a steady temp in the tank? I'm converting my 55 gal FW tank to a SW FOWLR tank. I originally was going to use just a DSB and LR with a hang on protein skimmer. The idea of a sump to help regulate temp and water changes sounds great, but i'd like to avoid dropping the $$ for a wet/dry system.

Without getting too far off topic, I want to thank everyone in the forum for their help. I'm so glad I found this site. It really has made the idea of converting my tank much less daunting. Thank you all again for your help.

yippyyae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2005, 05:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 171
A sump can be setup without a wet/dry. The heater should work fine in the sump. Check out this site for loads of useful info especially on sumps if you plan on DIY


I learned enough to build my own sump/fuge.


saltwatersmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2005, 05:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Salttanker's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Before you buy the skimmer, try and decide if you are going to use a sump or not. If you do buy a sump, you can use the skimmer in the sump instead of the HOB. yes, you can put the heater in there as well. The sump also makes it easier to do water changes.

You definitely don't need a wet/dry system to have a sump. Some people use regular (new) rubbermaid containers, 20-30 gal fish tanks, custom made sumps, and if you're handy, you can build your own. Stephen provided a great link to making your own sumps. HTH

Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2005, 09:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 140
Not the best solution, but the cheapest at the time...I turned my W/D into a sump. I took out the bioballs and poly filter from the tower side. I left the eggcrate in it and added chaeto on top of it. I use a clamp-on light fixture to add light witha 75W bulb.
Now it's full of snails, miniature starfish, and pods. The other side holds my HOB skimmer, heater, and return pump.
Steve - DFWMAS
92-gal Corner Bowfront: VHOs,PCs,LR,LS,Sump,Skimmer,Fish,Soft Corals,LPS (Born again 9-04)

29-gal: PCs,LR,LS,Skimmer,Fish,Soft corals (Born 9-04)
No_Floaters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2005, 09:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Taunton Mass
Posts: 8
Hi all,

I have a protein skimmer that was given to me. It's a seaclone 150 (?). The instructions show a way to set it up in a sump. I'd like to set it up that way if possible. I loved the link Stephen provided. I'm definitely intrigued with possibly setting up a refugium in the sump. Thank you for your help it's greatly appreciated. I saved that link and I'll be looking that over in more detail this weekend. I think a DIY sump might be the way to go.
yippyyae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2005, 11:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pasadena, TX
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to pelochas Send a message via Yahoo to pelochas
No_Floaters, i have the same idea about my wet dry filter. i just finished modding my wet dry filter. i added another compartment for the return water. i have two overflows from the main tank, one to the left side where i will fill up with some base rock, the other to the the right compartment where my skimmer is hung on. the skimmer output is into the samll section i created where my return pump is at. in the middle, is my refugium. hope this works, i have even had the time to test it yet.

pelochas is offline   Reply With Quote


Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To sump or not to sump, that is the question eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 01-19-2010 02:41 PM
Sump question? 2nicewitit Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 10-21-2008 09:03 PM
To sump or not to sump that is the question neptune General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 02-25-2006 06:15 PM
Sump question ... Lighting question. dansemacabre Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 10 07-27-2003 11:36 AM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.