Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-28-2005, 01:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 73
Sump set-up question

I am going to be setting a a sump/refugium and I have a couple of questions.

What section of the unit do I put the protien skimmer in?

How much sand, if any, needs to go in the refugium section? i was planning on keeping some macro algea.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
75 gallon fish/reef - 50 lbs liverock - 4 VHO lighting (2 acentic) - 2 Eheim canisters
2 clowns - 1 damsels - 1 royal gramma - 1 coral banded shrimp - 1 cleaner shimp - 1 emerald crabs - assortment of snails and hermits - sandsifting star - orange starfish - 1 hammer - 1 bubble - 1 toadstool - 1 small colony of zoos
SpEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2005, 03:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 73
Anyone?
__________________

__________________
75 gallon fish/reef - 50 lbs liverock - 4 VHO lighting (2 acentic) - 2 Eheim canisters
2 clowns - 1 damsels - 1 royal gramma - 1 coral banded shrimp - 1 cleaner shimp - 1 emerald crabs - assortment of snails and hermits - sandsifting star - orange starfish - 1 hammer - 1 bubble - 1 toadstool - 1 small colony of zoos
SpEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2005, 12:31 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I would say the skimmer output needs to be away from the return pump to help keep bubbles at a minimum. I have always had mine next to the drain line but don't think it really matters.

As for sand, some macro want to root into sand but chaeto does not need it. I have 1-2 in of sand in mine but my tank sand is 3-4". Some put a DSB in the fuge if they don't have one in the tank. Again, really does not matter. Pros and cons to each. DSB has worked well for me so far.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2005, 05:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 31
I have the skimmer over the return pump.
last pic on the bottom. ---> http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewto...220&highlight=
__________________
ajacinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
set-up, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sump set up beanyboy1982 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 10-03-2008 01:04 PM
sump set up question MsBeanCtr Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 01-12-2008 05:53 PM
this a good sump set up? fishrfreinds Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 12-19-2005 11:10 PM
Expanded sump set-up IndyReefMan DIY Projects 23 11-19-2005 08:18 PM
help me set up a sump plzzz saltcreep1025 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 9 07-25-2003 07:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.