Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-18-2010, 04:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Silent Night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK Midlands
Posts: 78
sump size? pump size?

what size sump would you recommend for a 150 imp/gal reef?

obvs taking into consideration the size of the hardware

it has been suggested that i should use a 1000-1500 gph return pump also.

what do you guys think?

thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
WHAT DO YOU CALL A BIG FISH WHO MAKES YOU AN OFFER YOU CAN'T REFUSE?
The Codfather !

Adam
Silent Night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 05:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
30g upwards,the biggest you get afford/fit
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 06:00 PM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Bigger is always better, really your only limitation is your budget and where you intend to put it.

Once you decide what size sump, we can size your pump.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 06:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Silent Night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK Midlands
Posts: 78
ok, excellent.

im at the pricing up stage at the moment. got the spot picked out, so iv ordered a 6'x2'x2'. its on hold with the supplier until im ready for it.

but, more research the better right?

im toying with the idea of modding my old 30gal aquarium into a sump. i guess thats an appropriate size

so, neilan, what size return would you advise?


and thanks both, for the hasty replies
__________________
WHAT DO YOU CALL A BIG FISH WHO MAKES YOU AN OFFER YOU CAN'T REFUSE?
The Codfather !

Adam
Silent Night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 06:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
unless it's a 30 breeder, i wouldn't use the 30 as a sump. especially if you want to add a refugium and put a skimmer in it. simply not enough space. i would suggest a 40 breeder. it's got a footprint big enough to allow for a skimmer that will do the job, and enough height to allow for extra water volume in the event of a power outage.
as for the pump, a 1000+-gph pump should work fine. you don't need crazy turnover in the sump.just enough to feed your components.
on my last 150, i used a quiet one 4000 as a return and it was plenty.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 06:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Silent Night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK Midlands
Posts: 78
nice one.

i see what you mean. the 30 i have does not have the required floor space to accommodate all of the required equipment. it is more of a tall tank, than a wide tank anyways.

would you know if the Quiet One 4000 is available with a UK Standard electricity supply? the pump selection at my LFS is somewhat lacking..

and, thanks X
__________________
WHAT DO YOU CALL A BIG FISH WHO MAKES YOU AN OFFER YOU CAN'T REFUSE?
The Codfather !

Adam
Silent Night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 08:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
hmm.. no, i don't have any idea if it's available with a UK standard plug. how about danner mag drives? can you get those with the type of plug you need? what brand pumps are accessible to you?

and you are quite welcome.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 09:22 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I use a forty gallon long on my 125 gallon reef. My return pumps are a mag 12 and a mag 9.5
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 03:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Silent Night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK Midlands
Posts: 78
ok, im looking at the Eheim 1262 water pump for around 747 GPH turnover. i thought that maybe 1000 GPH was a little excessive, despite many AA's suggesting it.

the tank i have my eye on has only one 1" bulkhead fitting which can only allow around 600 GPH flow rate. so, id be pumping more water into the tank than my overflow can disperse. am i right here, or..?

sufficient to cover the head pressure? im open to suggestions, guys

and thanks again all
__________________
WHAT DO YOU CALL A BIG FISH WHO MAKES YOU AN OFFER YOU CAN'T REFUSE?
The Codfather !

Adam
Silent Night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 03:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
remember you can throttle down the pump to suit your fittingor tee it back to your sump with a valve to regulate it,I use the 2000ltr eheim on my 60g tank with 2 sumps and one syphon pipe overflow box reduced down to 3/4" and it handles that easily,remember to take into consideration the head.Also are you having the protein skimmer in the sump or out of it,and what else eg. refugium or LS with macro algae,I've plenty of chaetomorpha if your near oxford.

1" pipe has a flow rate capacity of 960 gph. Check this link http://flexpvc.com/WaterFlowBasedOnPipeSize.shtml
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
150, pump, sump, sump size

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PUMP Size eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 02-08-2010 10:29 AM
sump pump size and return? fishcrack General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 01-04-2009 08:33 PM
Appropriate Size For Sump Pump kart_racer3 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 06-18-2007 05:30 PM
Size of PVC piping in relation to size of pump connections chase33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 02-19-2007 05:17 AM
sump pump vs. overflow box vs. tank size dax29 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 09-04-2005 10:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.