Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-16-2007, 07:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Sump time?

I have never done a sump before I have a 45G acrylic tank with a sealed top except a few holes but nothing big enough for a skimmer and filter and all that SOOOO is a sump a good idea? If so how big and what all do I need? Thanks.

Old 11-16-2007, 07:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

A sump is always a good idea. It will add water volume to your system and give you a place to hide unslightly equipment like a skimmer and heaters. It also provides a nice place to run chemical filtration. Size will depend on the space you have under the tank and personal preference.

Old 11-16-2007, 07:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Im thinkin a 10 gallon maybe or possibly a 5? I never thought of having the heater in the sump thats awesome. So how do they even work haha. I really need help with this one guys.
Old 11-16-2007, 08:52 PM   #4
SW 20 & Over Club

Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
10g will work nice. You need a way to get water from your tank down into the sump. 2 ways to do that...drill the back of the tank or use a hang on back overflow. Not sure if you can even use an overflow if your tank doesn't have anyplace to hang it.
Then you need a pump in the sump to move the water back up into the tank. You can plumb it with pvc or clear tubing or a combo of both.
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 09:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

here is a pic of the top...

Old 11-16-2007, 11:33 PM   #6