Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-01-2006, 07:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cape Neddick, ME and Lowell, MA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to chris stevens
Sumps

My 55 gallon has no sump, and I've been considering adding one on. First of all, how important is a sump? Is an overflow box really neccesary? couldn't I just pump the water out of the aquarium and into the sump with a hose connected to a powerhead, and then use a more powerful powerhead to pump the return line to account for gravity? or would I end up overflowing my sump doing this? how large of a sump should i have for a 55g?
__________________

__________________
the field of unpopular music is wide open
chris stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 07:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 181
Re: Sumps

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris stevens
or would I end up overflowing my sump doing this?
Yes. If you have a return pump and it fails, only so much water will fill up your sump. You can test to see how high to fill your sump in the case of a power failure.

You have two pumps and one fails and you have a flood. One outperforms the other and you have a flood. Overflow boxes aren't as good as having a drilled tank. But they're not accidents waiting to happen either. I've never lost a siphon.

Sumps are great because they increase the amount of water in your system so the bigger the better. The biggest you can fit would be ideal. Plus you can hide your heaters, protein skimmer, etc. in your sump.
__________________

__________________
Reese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 08:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cape Neddick, ME and Lowell, MA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to chris stevens
i've got an acrylic tank - would it be easier for me to drill it and install plumbing, or will I be fine with an overflow box?
__________________
the field of unpopular music is wide open
chris stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 09:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Do a external DIY overflow molded to your tank. No siphon issues with overflow benefits.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sumps GoodFish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 04-15-2005 08:40 PM
sumps? NEWTOSALT General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 03-19-2005 11:37 PM
What Are Sumps??? amphibianboy528 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 01-12-2005 06:34 PM
sumps mastershake Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-17-2004 10:02 AM
someone help me with 'sumps' scubasteve Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 06-14-2004 05:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.