Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-09-2005, 11:34 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 38
Send a message via MSN to Ocicat
Sumps & flooding

I have been looking at 125- and 180-gallon MegaFlow tanks from All-Glass, with the built-in overflows. According to their little diagram, the water doesn't just "overflow" over the top of the overflow, but it is allowed into the overflow through three locations in the plastic at varying heights ‚ÄĒa slit in the bottom, a slit in the middle, and over the top. I saw mention of flooding with sumps... and it seems to me that using this design, if the power went out, the water would just keep pouring through those slits and totally flood the sump and then your floor, not to mention totally draining the tank. Is there something to prevent his, aside from installing a whole backup battery system?

Aren't there overflows that only take water over the top (as opposed to through slits lower down), so that if the power went out the water would stop draining once the tank level is so low it won't reach the top any more? Are these better?

TIA!
__________________

__________________
Ocicat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2005, 12:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Posts: 168
I have the Megaflow 125 and i've had no problems with overflows or floods at all when i shut off the pumps or the storms down here do it for me. It's a wonderful system.
I do have it draining into a 30gal rubble/tufa/base rock sump, and the main sump as well.
I also have my piping rigged so it can drain into a 3rd sump, when i'm ready for it.
Maybe, it's overkill, but it works for me.
i gues my point is, get the Megaflow, you won't regret it.
__________________

__________________
125gal. megaflow. Fish Residents:
Yellow Tang -(Junior), Flame Angel -(Flamey)
Bicolor Blenny -(Butch), Randall Jawfish -(Jaws)
Lawnmower Blenny -(Lenny), Talbot's Damsel -(Dottie), Tomato Clown -(Ketchup)
Nameless fish include, Neon Blenny, Singapore Shrimp Goby, Yellow Tail Damsel, 1 Skunk Cleaner Shrimps, purple pseudochromis.
gfishguy56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2005, 12:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 38
Send a message via MSN to Ocicat
Why doesn't it flood, when the pumps are off? What stops the water from continuing to drain into the tub below while the power is out and there is no pump pushing it back up? (Forgive me if this is a stupid question -- I'm right-brained!)
__________________
Ocicat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2005, 01:31 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 298
The overflow 'housing' is actually two separate pieces. The outer blank 'tube' is the one that has the slots for the water to enter from 3 different levels. The inner 'tube' is solid, so all the water that flows though the outer tube must flow over the top. So, the tank can only drain to the top level of that inner 'tube'.
__________________
20 20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2005, 03:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 512
I have the 120 MegaFlow, and I love it! No problems with flooding when I shut it down for maintenanace, or when the power fails. Built in overflows are so much nicer than the hang on the back variety.
__________________
AndyH5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 10:33 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
When the pumps stop the water will drain till it reachs the top of the inner chamber of the overflow. There are slots down below but that water has to come up before it actually drains to the sump.

That is why you have to make sure the sump can handle the amount of water that drains from the overflow when pumps are off. There is also a siphon break on the return line to keep water from draining back into the sump from that point. This can happen. Some people forget about that one.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flood, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Baldface Newbie Part III - Sumps & Pumps jgpa General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 03-01-2008 10:51 PM
RO-DI Flooding Disaster! BlueDolphin General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 11-25-2007 03:32 AM
OVERFLOW BOXES, DANGER OF FLOODING???????? PRINCE_NAMOR Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 11-23-2003 04:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.