Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-17-2009, 12:20 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 364
Surge Protector

I just picked up your typical run of the mill surge protector power strip at the store. Ok... maybe it was a little cheaper than typical .
Anyway, I was reading the box out of bordom and it warned to keep away from water and not use with any aquarium equipment. This sounded to me like one of those mandatory warnings like "don't put plastic bag over head". Does anyone feel there is any stock in spending lots of money on some sort of specifically aquarium ready power strip?
__________________

__________________
Da Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 12:23 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GhostKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 703
I went to home depot and bought a belkin steel surge protector. I have 3 of them throughout the house. They are outdoor rated. Im sure they wont do well underwater haha but. I have mine inside my stand. I uhh that might change. but they are nice and well worth the money. There is a 50,000 dollar guarantee on them.
__________________

__________________
Have You Voted For AA Today?
GhostKnife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 12:48 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
I got GFCI surge strips.
__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 12:54 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
You're right... it's just stock lawyer-speak on those strips. But agree with WhiteDevil... it's better to invest in a GFCI strip if you don't have one on the wall outlet to start with.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 01:02 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 446
Send a message via MSN to kangster
as long as you mount it on the wall or something, not just sitting on the floor i think it should be ok
in case of a disaster, god forbid, let say your aquarium was leaking and the water on the floor seeps through the unit, but then nobody would just lay something like that to a 10-55 gallons of water or even more
__________________
kangster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 01:19 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
Pretty much make sure you got drip loops on all your cords and you should be fine. If not get some HD velcro and velcro it to the stand.
__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 07:56 AM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteDevil View Post
I got GFCI surge strips.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 09:08 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
I am going to switch out the outlet later today for a GFCI outlet. Should have put GFCI's in all the new outlets in my basement but cut a corner now I gotta do the work a 2nd time, GO ME LOL.


Any time you have an aquairum a GFCI outlet is ideal. Its actually cheaper then a strip and its safer and in most municiplatiies its code.
__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 09:20 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 364
Sorry, what is GFCI? Is it just a special kind of surge protector strip with extra water precautions?
__________________
Da Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 09:22 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter.

Its a circuit breaker outlet used in wet conditions and atmospheres.
__________________

__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surge 3500 pump? RLG2182 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 11-11-2009 11:26 PM
Timers and Surge Protectors TygGer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 25 03-26-2008 12:00 AM
Surge Protector melosu58 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 07-17-2006 08:12 PM
GFCI and Surge Arrestor hforney Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 01-13-2005 04:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.