Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-04-2005, 09:48 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Thats true. I think my hydro is about 1yr old.
__________________

__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 09:54 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
My Deepsix was off at 6 months. I thought I was at 1.025 and I was really at 1.029! Everthing seemed fine but it took a long adjustment to get it down. I marked my Deepsix with the correct reading I still use it now

Sometimes the swing arm is quicker in a pinch. Just calibrate it with the refractometer on occasion.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 08:41 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: rockport, massachusetts
Posts: 547
If you give the swing-arm type a good soaking in plain water from time to time will it keep the salt deposits from forming?
__________________
dianeww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 12:13 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI (any others?)
Posts: 148
your probably better off leaving freshwater in it while you store it, then when you are ready to use it then dump that out and do your tests and then fill it back up with fresh water. This way the salt and any other minerals in the salt water and or freshwater that you should rinse it out with after you test, doesn't dry up on the swing arm, thus causing it to be so innacurate.
__________________
maxamillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 12:35 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 171
I've checked my Deep Six hydrometer against a refractometer.

Hydrometer => 1.021
Refractometer => 1.024

The hydrometer seems to be consistently off by .003 on the low side. I just try to keep it reading around 1.021 and it works for me as long as its consistent. I rinse the hydrometer off in RO water after every use. This keeps the deposits off.

Stephen
__________________

__________________
saltwatersmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hydrometer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swing arm vs Refractometer Bige General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-11-2009 07:52 AM
Digital Salinity Meter vs Floating Arm Hydrometer TheChad Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 10-24-2006 06:45 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.