Swing Arm Hydrometer Warning!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pghjeff71

Aquarium Advice Regular
Ever since I've been in this hobby I've always used a swing arm hydrometer of one type or the other. I've been using the "Deep Six" model for the last several months and while being here on the AA forums have read nothing but bad things about these. I've always thought, "well how bad can these things truly be". Well after a disease outbreak and needing to use hyposalinity for a quarantine tank I decided to purchase a refractometer. The difference between the two devices is staggering.

- The swing arm hydrometer is off by a whopping -.5/SG; for example the refractometer showed my main tank at 1.26SG while the hydrometer showed 1.21SG.

Let this be a warning to everyone in this hobby. Spend the $45 dollars and get a refractometer today! It's the single best tool you can buy if you are serious about the care of your tanks.

Oh as a sidenote, while I was typing this article I remembered I also have a glass hydrometer (the kind you drop in the water and see where it floats). I've had this thing probably for a good five years now, and this one is +.2SG as compared to the refractometer:

Main Tank:

1.23SG (refractometer)
1.25SG (glass hydrometer)
1.18SG (swing arm hydrometer)

Not as bad as the swing arm hydrometer, but still leaves room for doubt.

- Jeff

Thank you for sharing, this is one of the reasons why I read these post everyday. I use a refractometer and I'm glad I spent the money. As much as I stress about my tank I want to make sure all readings are accurate.

I also just recently changed from a hydrometer to a refractometer. I had similar results, a .5 difference between the two. My refractometer readings match that of the LFS that uses some kind of digital meter.