Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-07-2012, 11:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ziggs180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 364
T5 and T5 High output

Today I had to replace the LED's for my tanks lighting, and saw they had some Bulbs that were more Wattage. I mistakenly bought the LED bulbs a size to small for my Hood, and I will be exchanging it for the proper size, however it says that the Bulb is a T5 High output. This might be a silly Question, but would this matter as long as the Hood is a T5? I Wouldn't want to have my Hood explode or melt due to a different type of T5.
__________________

__________________
46Gallon Natural Planted Tank. 8 Harlequin Rasboras, 5 Amano shrimp, 2 German blue Rams, 1 Dwarf Gourami, 5 Platys, 1 Albino Bristlenose
Ziggs180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 02:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
if your fixture is just a standard T5 lamp then the ballast will not start a high output, it is not pushign enough wattage through it to allow it to start, if you have a high output fixture and you place a standard lamp in it it will be alot brighter but it won't last as long, in some cases the ballast will say "this is the wrong bulb" and it won't turn it on.

when replacing lamps its best to find out which you are using and buy according to the wattages not the size and what fits
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 03:51 PM   #3
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Yup, GTI's advice is right on - Florescent ballasts are made for a specific type of bulb. It is not like an incandescent lamp where you can pick and choose what strength bulb to screw in.

I am confused though by the OP... You said LED (Light Emitting Diode), and then you said T5HO, which is a florescent type bulb. I don't understand what you are asking for sure I guess. These are 2 completely different types of lighting.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 05:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ziggs180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 364
Bad LFS Store advice, it is a Flourescent light, and they confused me and said it was LED. Anyways I returned it and got the new one, because all of them basically said ''T5 Highoutput'', and I needed a replacement. Well the light actually does fit and shines pretty brightly. I'm using the Coralife T5 on a Aqueon T5 light setup.
__________________
46Gallon Natural Planted Tank. 8 Harlequin Rasboras, 5 Amano shrimp, 2 German blue Rams, 1 Dwarf Gourami, 5 Platys, 1 Albino Bristlenose
Ziggs180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:02 PM   #5
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
I was going to say, I'm farily confident that T5HO bulbs will fire in a T5NO fixture, as long as they are the same length (seems like some T5NO bulbs are shorter). I've read somewhere (can't remember where) that the majority of ballasts are load sensing, meaning that a T5NO bulb in a T5HO fixture will still only produce the light it would in a T5NO fixture, but a T5HO bulb in a T5NO fixture will only produce the light that a T5NO bulb would. No idea if that's reality or not, since I just read it somewhere.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 10:56 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ziggs180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 364
Well the lighting currently being produced in my T5 is way brighter than the bulbs I had before, the wattage is 31 (compared to 18 before) but both bulbs are 6,700 K.
__________________

__________________
46Gallon Natural Planted Tank. 8 Harlequin Rasboras, 5 Amano shrimp, 2 German blue Rams, 1 Dwarf Gourami, 5 Platys, 1 Albino Bristlenose
Ziggs180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high output

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
48 Inch Coralife Lunar Aqualight T5 Lamp High Output Fixture Squall General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 12-07-2011 01:59 PM
normal T5 vs T5 High Output BHead707 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 11-20-2011 01:40 PM
Tank is cycled but NitrAte are high (after PWCs)! lapintoxic Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 09-26-2011 06:41 AM
Lighting a 20Gallon High. ChristinaE12 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 0 09-10-2011 08:33 PM
High ph question JJMS86 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 09-04-2011 08:51 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.