Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-31-2011, 12:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: stoke-on-trent
Posts: 40
t8 t5 lights

I've just got t8 lights and I was just wondering if I can have one t8 and one t5
__________________

__________________
stokefandan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 04:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Do you mean two fixtures, yes. just takes up lots of room on the top of the tank
__________________

__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 05:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: stoke-on-trent
Posts: 40
No I didn't I ment one fitting lol
__________________
stokefandan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 06:33 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by stokefandan View Post
I've just got t8 lights and I was just wondering if I can have one t8 and one t5
If you're attempting to run 1 t5 and 1 t8 in the same fixture....I would steer clear of that....its prob doable but then again it could cause some problems as well
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 12:06 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
Why? The whole point of T5 is that they are more efficient. T8 is some home depot bulb. The light depends upon a ballast to function and usually drive bulbs in pairs. If you just have a bulb and are trying to make it work, it probably won't.
__________________
Fishless cycling
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 08:27 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Ryans-planted-tank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stoke on trent
Posts: 29
probably the most random question on here dan lol and your a sparky! haha why would u want both ? i thought u were happy just having soft corals.
__________________
3ft by 18" by 18" optiwhite tank. 30L of tmc nutrasoil, 25kg of orange dragon stone, tmc auto top up, jbl proflora u402 co2, ehiem pro 3 exturnal filter, tmc vecton 300 uv, hydor 900l power head. All pond solutions 4 x 39w hi t5 light unit. Ehiem air pump 400l, lily pipes. Hydor exturnal heater 300 w
Ryans-planted-tank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 08:51 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: stoke-on-trent
Posts: 40
Well I was just asking n I did not no u needed a new light unit LOL
__________________
stokefandan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 09:23 AM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
oved to General Hardware and equipment discussion
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 09:16 AM   #9
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
The "T" designation is only the diameter of the bulb. So if both bulbs are regular output (not high output - T5HO) yes, you can use both in the same fixture.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 10:35 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
The T number is the diameter of the tube, but the ballasts are designed for a certain tube.The wattages are different in the different tubes. They may light or not, they may work correctly, although likely not. Is the pin spacing not different on the T5 from the T8?
__________________

__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, lights, t5 light, t5 lights

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: 36'' AquaticLife 4 bulb T5HO + Lunar Lights sampster5000 Archive 0 07-29-2011 11:33 AM
Good lights or no xfactor6699 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-26-2011 03:54 PM
advise on LED lights francis General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 07-22-2011 02:11 AM
New Lights francis Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 21 07-19-2011 06:05 PM
Aquarium lights guppy grandma General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-04-2011 12:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.