Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 11-10-2010, 11:28 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
Tank Redesign - Substrate, Filter, Lighting questions

I have a 50 gallon tank FW Lightly Planted Community Tank. I have been running it for about 6 months now I guess. Here is my setup:

50 Gallon Tank
Glass Hood
Single Bulb (5 months old) in cheap light
Rena SmartFilter 30
AquaClear 70
2 large sponge filters (run by Rena Air 300)
9w Green Killing Machine (UV Sterilizer)

Live Stuff:
Silver Tipped Teta – 5
Rosy Tetra – 5
Australian Rainbow – 2
Albino Glow Light Tetra – 1
Dalmatian Molly – 1
Red Long Finned Tetras – 4
Red Wag Platties – 2
Red ‘fat’ platties – 2
Sun Burst Platties – 2
(I think there are more but I just can’t remember HAHA)
And 4 live plants

I want to do some more plants, and I think what I am going to do it redesign the entire tank. In order to do so I am going to need to upgrade the lighting, thinking a 2 bulb T-5. I am also considering building my own canopy. I am going to need to remove the air pump, losing to much CO2. But I would like to change the filters too. I want to replace the HOB’s and replace it with a canister. I am a HUGE fan of over filtration. I aim to have my tank turn over 10 times per hour. As you can tell, I am at 450 GPH now with just the HOBs. I have cheap blue/green gravel in the bottom of my tank now that I am wanting to replace. So here are my questions:

What Substrate should I use in my tank for a medium planted tank? (I want to avoid needing CO2)

What canister filter should I use for my tank? I was looking at XP4 or a Fluval 405? Any other suggestions?

If I do build my own Canopy, what type of electronics should I buy for it?

KBCoggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 12:00 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus