Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-20-2009, 10:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 190
tank stand

This might be a stupid question, but I'm a total newbie. I'm looking at a used 48 gallon diamond shaped corner tank but it doesn't have a stand. Can I use a really sturdy tv stand or table as a stand or is that not safe? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
missgingersnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 10:26 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
The stand needs to be able to handle about 500lbs. I would be concerned with using anything other then a solid wood stand. Most TV stands are particle board and don't like getting wet.
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 12:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 190
Thanks Ziggy
__________________
missgingersnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 10:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
mitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
i would also put foam under the tank to stablize it
__________________
I own 5 tanks 2 of them are breeders and 2 are com tanks , 1 eastern long neck turtle
mitcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 03:59 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 190
Thanks guys. I ended up buying a used tank that had a stand in the end. Now I have to wait for the boring fishless cycle before I can put my fish in there.
__________________
missgingersnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 04:04 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitcore View Post
i would also put foam under the tank to stablize it

DO NOT put foam under the tank unless the manufacturer of the tank specifically states that foam should be used. If it is a standard AGA, Perfecto or similar tank with plastic trim it is to be set directly on the surface you are using as a stand. Foam will void any and all warranties.

I am speaking from personal experience. Tanks with plastic trim are not designed to have foam under them.
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
stand, tan, tank stand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Stand MarkW19 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 08-30-2007 05:19 PM
Tank Stand ? hefer Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 02-22-2007 09:01 PM
More tank & tank stand questions... Sara Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 12-20-2004 02:01 PM
Would this stand be ok for my tank? flipz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-11-2004 12:57 AM
getting a new tank stand? saaebn Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-15-2004 11:03 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.