Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-11-2013, 04:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Dimdim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 862
test kits and phosphates.

okay, so here is a wierd one for all you PO4 haters out there.
i tested my newly mixed ro di saltwater with api saltwater phosphate test kit. got a reading of 1 ppm. was astonished. i was confused, so i tested the source water with a freshwater card, source ro di freshwater read 10 ppm.
holy smokes! what the heck?! so heres what i did, i tested the phosphates coming out of my tap water on the other line that the ro di is diverted from. and my rading is less than .25 id say closer to .09. im ordering a tds meter to measure the tds of my tap. and any ideas as to why my ro di would be increasing phosphates in my water??!?!?!?!
__________________

__________________
Dimdim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Dimdim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 862
I have a 6 stage ro di. For some reason my ro di is increasing my phosphate levels drastically. It is the 6 stage 100 gpd brand new system. Im very unhappy now and i am debating on doing any water changes.. Input water is less then.25 phosphates and supposed good ro do is 10ppm. HELPPP
__________________

__________________
Dimdim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:19 PM   #3
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Wow, that is crazy. Are you sure the test is accurate? Have you repeated the results? They do expire.

I am not sure how a standard carbon block/sediment filter and RO membrane, and DI filter could possibly add PO4 to the water.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Dimdim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 862
The test kit was purchased on boxing day , and i just repeated the test. I also did a search, and using a liquid phosphate test on fresh ro di water may make it innaccurate anyways, due to the issues of ro di water being so unstable, and will grab on to any charges ionically to get back to its orginal state, even co2 in the air around us can affect it... I guess ill have to wait till my tds meter gets here. I tested my reef salt mix and all salt mixes carry a bit of phosphates, and i noticed since i switched from distilled to my own ro di, that whatever hair algae i did have has bushed up but not spread
__________________
Dimdim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
phosphates, test, test kits

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.