Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-21-2006, 07:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 352
Send a message via AIM to degbowl
Tetra Tec filter

I just went to a LFS and saw the Tetra Tec 150 filter. It was only $30 after tax for the filter and 100 watt heater that goes inside filter. I will be setting up a 25 gal FOWLR next month. I was going to use an aquaclear hob to put carbon in. Now I plan on using this filter with the heater and just carbon instead of the filter cartridges. Has anyone used the Tetra Tec filter? I just thought it would be better than having the filter and the heater in my tank. I have no room to make a sump that I could put heater in. I just wanted to know what other people experienced with this filter. For $30 I figured I would give it a try. Thanks!
Jim
__________________

__________________
degbowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 09:05 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
I used it on my seahorse tank for the very reasons you described, heater out of the tank worked great in this instance. Mine was on a 40 cube. That is a good price as well.
__________________

__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 09:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 352
Send a message via AIM to degbowl
I was tempted to buy more. I have a 40 cube goldfish tank and a 46 gal discus tank. They also had the tetra tec 300 for the same price. I thought it would be too much for a 25 gal tank. I have aquaclear filters on both of those tanks and they work great. What do you put in your tetra tec? Do you just use the cartridges?
__________________
degbowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 09:28 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
I actually made an insert for it for carbon useage back then...nothing but carbon
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 10:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 352
Send a message via AIM to degbowl
Good idea. I will have to try that. Thanks for your help!
__________________
degbowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, tetra

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tetra Whisper EX45 Filter Clare General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 10-20-2013 02:08 PM
Tetra Whisper 20i In-Tank Filter bluerose General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 10-09-2008 09:15 PM
Tetra filter vs. Aqua filter? woodsplace1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 04-06-2006 10:04 PM
Tetra Tec PF 500 Power Filter General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-30-2006 09:44 AM
Tetra-Tec PF 500 Filter General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 01-09-2006 05:47 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.