Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-12-2016, 12:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Thermostat - In sump or DT?

I have my heaters controlled by a Ranco ETC. Should I put it's thermocouple in the sump, where the heaters are, or in the display? I currently have it in the display, but I'm wondering what other people think about this, and why.
__________________

__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 01:45 PM   #2
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,527
I don't have controllers for my heater but I do have it in the sump , I find it easier to access if I need to . plus it isn't in display looking ugly
__________________

__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 03:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
My heaters are in the sump...but for those that use controllers, I'm curious as to if it's better to have the probe in sump or in the tank.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 06:00 PM   #4
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,527
I don't think it matters as the water is always flowing into sump than back to the tank
in a rotational pattern
even though its 2 tanks they are connected flowing the same water in and out making 1 body of water , so the water should always be the same temp

like I said above my heater is in the sump and and haven't had any issue with fluctuation in my temp , it stays a steady 80*
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 09:36 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
Mine was in the sump when I had my 125 but I had to sell it and back to my 55 gallon tank so it is back in the DT. Sorry can't answer question about the control part never used one of those for the heater.
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digital thermostat controller orangepunkins Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-05-2014 02:00 PM
Which heater with external thermostat? NoNitrates General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 10-12-2013 12:28 PM
Heater / Thermometer / Thermostat? pairustwo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 02-16-2007 08:32 AM
Need a new thermostat, but dont know what spec i need elliott_001 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 01-14-2006 06:15 PM
Another Heater Thermostat Disaster Chiclidaholic General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 05-19-2005 11:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.