Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-15-2011, 12:30 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Question To Sump or Not to Sump - Freshwater

So I have that Fluval Edge copy that I've recently built/building here, and I'm considering using my old 10 gallon tank as a sump. I'm a sump noob but I've been researching it and have 99% of the materials available to execute this.

I'm thinking of doing a 3/4" pvc overflow like this one with a few modifications and using a sump pump I already have.

Are freshwater sumps worth it? My "Fedge" tank comes to just under 7 gallons and if I understand the sump correctly, I could probably get another five or six gallons out of the sump unless I'm grossly over estimating.

Input. Good or Bad idea?
Am I totally off my rocker?

Old 09-16-2011, 02:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

40+ views and no input?
Did I post in the wrong section or is it just a bad idea?

Old 09-16-2011, 02:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

This might help-but I don't think sumps are common for FW.

http://www.fishchannel.com/fish-excl...ater-sump.aspx
Old 09-16-2011, 02:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I have a 90g reef ready and I use it as freshwater. My sump is 20 gallons. I don't find any problems. I have it to where I close a valve and can empty my sump for waterchanges. Then I refill with the hose turn on heater and add prime. Works very well for me.
Old 09-16-2011, 02:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Another plus is when my angels spawn (or other fish) I have an established tank to put the eggs/fry in. It has several advantages if setup properly.
Old 09-16-2011, 11:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist