Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-15-2011, 12:30 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 115
Question To Sump or Not to Sump - Freshwater

So I have that Fluval Edge copy that I've recently built/building here, and I'm considering using my old 10 gallon tank as a sump. I'm a sump noob but I've been researching it and have 99% of the materials available to execute this.

I'm thinking of doing a 3/4" pvc overflow like this one with a few modifications and using a sump pump I already have.

Are freshwater sumps worth it? My "Fedge" tank comes to just under 7 gallons and if I understand the sump correctly, I could probably get another five or six gallons out of the sump unless I'm grossly over estimating.

Input. Good or Bad idea?
Am I totally off my rocker?
__________________

__________________
MrBeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 02:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 115
40+ views and no input?
Did I post in the wrong section or is it just a bad idea?
__________________

__________________
MrBeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 02:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
HappyFit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 25
This might help-but I don't think sumps are common for FW.

http://www.fishchannel.com/fish-excl...ater-sump.aspx
__________________
HappyFit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 02:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenner, louisiana
Posts: 593
I have a 90g reef ready and I use it as freshwater. My sump is 20 gallons. I don't find any problems. I have it to where I close a valve and can empty my sump for waterchanges. Then I refill with the hose turn on heater and add prime. Works very well for me.
__________________
somethingsfishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 02:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenner, louisiana
Posts: 593
Another plus is when my angels spawn (or other fish) I have an established tank to put the eggs/fry in. It has several advantages if setup properly.
__________________
somethingsfishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 11:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Island_Emt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 186
I have a 90g freshwater with a 30g sump, and it works great for me. As a "bonus" I get to keep seeded media in it for quick qt or nursery tank start ups.
__________________
Island_Emt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 01:16 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 115
Well that is encouraging. I think I'm going to build a PVC overflow and start the 10g transformation into a sump. I think I have enough glass to engineer a sump of some sort.
__________________
MrBeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 01:30 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Island_Emt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 186
since its for a fw tank, you can go as simple as two chambers- one for the actual filtration and one for the return area. my 30g sump is divided into three-one for main filtration, one for return area, and third area has some crushed coral in it and houses sponge filters when not being used. IMO sumps are a plus to have, they give you many options.
__________________
Island_Emt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 02:44 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 115
I've been reading up about measuring out the chambers. Are there any tricks or special calculations I should take into account?
Also what's a good turnover rate for the water. I've seen everything from 3-10x/ hr.
__________________
MrBeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 02:56 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Island_Emt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 186
When I set up mine I based my measurements on what I found researching on the web. I have a great link on my PC with loads of info in sumps. Ill dig it out and post for you.
I've read 8-10x turnover rate is ideal. Mine is @ 10x and no problems. I do have a power head with quick filter just some extra clean up after my messy cichlids. Lol
__________________

__________________
Island_Emt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freshwater, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump vs Fluval fx5 for Freshwater Franckler General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 09-02-2011 02:17 PM
To Sump or not to Sump? wrmiller Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-20-2011 05:02 PM
Freshwater sump? somethingsfishy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 33 08-07-2011 08:32 PM
freshwater sump johnnyboy1219 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 08-05-2011 10:48 PM
Ideas for freshwater sump. Frivolous? Aquatic_Adam Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 07-14-2011 09:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.