Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-07-2011, 04:20 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Travis55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 716
too much filter???

Hey all. I'm thinking of doin a 10 gal nano. I have a 55 gal hob filter. Is this too big? I had filter problens once already.. 20 gal filter on 10 gal. Thanks for ur input!!!
__________________

__________________
Travis55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 08:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
What filter is it? If it has an adjustable flow, you might be able to get away with it, but my gut tells me you'd just turn your tank into a whirlpool.
__________________

__________________
“A man's errors are his portals of discovery.”
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 08:56 PM   #3
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Agreed - that filter is probably a little large for the tank. I use canister filters on 5 gal tanks, but it is much easier to control the flow than it will be with an HOB...
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 01:56 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Can you really have too much? I'm running 2 aquaclear 110's on my 75 gallon.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 01:59 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
You can't have too much filtration but you can have too much flow.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:00 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two
You can't have too much filtration but you can have too much flow.
In that case sweetie oops I mean Mumma what can you do to reduce flow?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:04 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161

In that case sweetie oops I mean Mumma what can you do to reduce flow?
Spray bars or sponges is what I use.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:07 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two

Spray bars or sponges is what I use.
Gotcha...
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:36 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Travis55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 716
I have an extra filter laying around. I also have a "sandman" 30-75 gallon filter. After my cascade 1000 is ready i could use that... would that be abetter option???
__________________
Travis55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 03:18 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
If your fish are constantly fighting the current of the output of your filter then it's not advisable. Like what's already stated if you can adjust the flow your good and it doesn't matter.
__________________

__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replaced some filter media skiweeangel Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-08-2011 10:22 AM
help with canister filter PLEASE heathers_hounds General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 17 11-05-2011 06:14 AM
Quick question Regarding Marineland Power Filter Convict2161 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 10-21-2011 06:10 PM
How to fast cycle with an API NEXX filter (or any filter)) zparticle Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 09-11-2011 09:36 AM
How long to seed new media? mikeybabs Cichlid Discussion 5 07-10-2011 11:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.