Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-26-2009, 11:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Too much filter for my tank?

My old HOB filter died last night. I ran out and grabbed a filter for a 40g tank. Is this too much filter for my 29g tall? I have it set on high flow and when I feed I drop it to low to make sure the fishys get some food.
__________________

__________________
jd8521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 11:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lynae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 204
Well, from what I've heard about aquarium filtration, its best to get a filter atleast 10 gallons OVER your tank size.
sounds like your perfectly fine!
__________________

__________________
"Life is the art of drawing without an eraser."
Lynae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 11:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: honolulu
Posts: 222
as long as your fish can handle the water flow, there is no such thing as too much filtration.
__________________
exodon king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 05:26 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynae View Post
Well, from what I've heard about aquarium filtration, its best to get a filter atleast 10 gallons OVER your tank size.
sounds like your perfectly fine!
most filters you can cut in half or more. they over rate their filters all the time. i run a AC 70 on my 29 and think its under filtered.
__________________
Google.
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 05:30 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: honolulu
Posts: 222
actually, AC filters measured with an inline flow meter to flow just about what theyre rated (give or take a couple of GPH depending on the individual impeller).

i have a tank running 60x turnover/hr (thats 1 turnover a minute for my math friends) and its running perfectly.
i also have a 40g with a 450 gph sump and 2x 500gph HOB, and there is no added stress to the inhabitants.
__________________
exodon king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 05:37 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
but does that include the media? even if it did that would be new unclogged media run it in a tank a day or two and it sure doesnt have the same flow.
__________________
Google.
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 05:45 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: honolulu
Posts: 222
if your tank is filthy enough to dramatically clog your media in 2 days, then the flow rate of your filter is the least of your worries.

with regular cleaning (as directed by the manufacturer, as well as fellow aquaria enthusiasts) you will not have to worry too much about reduced flow due to debris build up in the filter. though it will reduce it as you suggested, it should not be enough to make a noticeable difference.
__________________
exodon king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 05:59 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
never did flow meters on mine but ill give you that.though i do run floss in mine which you can see the slow down with or with out it. i didnt say you can cut gph they claim but the tank size.

i use what i know. for example aquaclear 20 they say is for a 20 gallon tank with 126gph. i would never run a tank with just one of those on there. not only are you running low turn over rate but small area for the media. bigger filters with higher turn over rates tend to also have larger media area.
__________________
Google.
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 06:07 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: honolulu
Posts: 222
i think youre confusing media volume with available surface area for bacterial colonization. with a good quality bio-media (such as the bio max pellets the AC20 come with) you get a ton more surface area than other media like ceramic rings (i believe its 6-10x. i dont remember the exact amount, id have to look it up). so even though the volume of the media basket doesnt look like much, there is a lot more room for microscopic bacteria than you can see.

also with a properly stocked 20g tank, the 6x turnover of the AC20 is more than enough. however, i agree with more filtration = BETTER. smallest filter i run on a 20g is an AC50.
__________________
exodon king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 06:23 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Gallons per hour alone isn't the proper measurement for a filters performance it's the quality of the filtration that matters. I would chose a filter that has as close as possible to 0 bypass as possible over GPH.
__________________

__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filter vs. HOB filter for a planted tank fort384 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 02-02-2009 01:09 AM
Anyone keep a tank with no filter? anythingscales Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 12-20-2005 09:38 PM
qt tank filter iceywater101 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 12-04-2005 07:35 PM
New Tank what filter to use scheen General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 12-01-2004 09:03 PM
Filter media from one tank to help cycle another tank? William Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 09-18-2003 06:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.