Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-21-2006, 04:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 77
tyohoon III tds ro high

i have 375tap tds i have ran the ro unit for about 10 gallons and get a tdsof 70, when i make my ro/di water i get 0tds i feel like the di is working to hard anybody have a issue with this, and yes i have e-mailed airwaterice havent herd from walter yet,and i have cleaned the tds meter with di water a few times also
__________________

__________________
clownface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 09:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Walter is real good about getting back to people with questions. Try calling him also on Monday.
I would run the unit more to give the thing a chance to break in.. If you getting a 70 on the ro end then you will be going through a lot of DI resin. I hooked up a double DI because I would burn through resin after a few hundred gallons. I now have the 8800 booster pump and I have not had to change my resin sense May. Still have a 1 on the TDS, tested and have 0 on the PO4 and nitrates also. I have heard of membranes not running at 100% right out of the box, so maybe the membrane is bad... Give Walter a chance to get back too you.. Great customer service at AWI.
TDS meters usually come calibrated so that should not be a issue, but stranger things have happened. AWI has calibration fluid..
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 10:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Seachem

How did you hook up a second DI? Im running into the same problem in running through filters in general..How does a second one help?
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 10:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
its seaham..

I bought a housing and some of the tubing and just hooked it in after the first DI, very easy.
If your water is high in PO4 or nitrates that first DI may have problems handling it so the 2nd will pick up anything that passes the first unit.
When its time to change resin I move the 2nd into the 1st spot and then add the new resin into the 2nd spot. Works well... Don't know what your water pressure is but if its low adding a booster pump will probably save you money. I have not had to change any filters sense adding the pump in May. still have a 1 on the TDS..
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 10:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
WOW! I think I might look into this. Apparently I DO have a lot of PO4 issues with my water and as a matter of fact remember hearing the city was going to add a lot of chlorine for a 2-3 week period of time in the summer so no telling what all they did.
This is a great method you have. Was wondering how you would do that - but switching the 2nd DI into the first is a great idea. I think we have good water pressure here so I will look into doing this. Appears all I need is a housing as I have some tubing...Ebay here I come!
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 01:08 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 77
i like the idea of 2 di filters i dont have a booster pump i live on well water and the pressure ranges from 20-40 psi but that should not effect the tds coming out of my ro water
__________________
clownface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 11:04 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
the low water won't effect the TDS, it will effect the filters life span. At least that has been my experiance.
I have a well also, 35-55 and it was part of my filter life issues.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TDS meter... TDS? stratmaster General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-25-2009 06:29 PM
TDS in....TDS out of RO well water for reef jackdp Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-26-2006 10:59 AM
RO/DI TDS readings.....too high? Dr.Nate General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 02-22-2006 11:51 AM
Luminarc III Reflectors? stresco General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-10-2005 12:18 AM
How to deal with high TDS reading/ Boxster Saltwater Reef Aquaria 24 03-16-2004 11:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.