Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-18-2015, 09:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Dare2smile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 57
UGF and Substrate

Hi everyone! It's me again, back with some questions about under gravel filters.

I'm wanting to set up a nice big fish bowl (10" tall/6" deep = 2 gallons?). I believe what I have for it is an under gravel filter, at least that's what someone said when I posted it before.

My questions are:
- How do I use it? Is it gravel, filter, gravel? Do I mix charcoal, sponge filter stuff, biomedia or anything else for the under part?
- Live plants. When I use the google, about two thirds say don't and one third say go for it. I /really/ want live plants, as this will likely hold snails and a betta.
-- Along with the live plants, what about using dirt as a substrate? I assume it's a silly thing to ask, but you can't know unless you do lol. What about under gravel stuff, under gravel filter, thin layer of gravel, thin layer of sponge filter stuff, gravel, dirt, gravel? My gravel is on the smaller side, so I'm not worried about thick layers.

Thanks! This will hopefully be a far easier setup than the little metal tank haha

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1426724017.962055.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	28.1 KB
ID:	267774
__________________

__________________
Dare2smile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 10:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,814
You could use gravel or very coarse sand with that filter. That's it. The granules acts as a mechanical and biological filter. Regular sand will clog up the slots on the filter plate.
As for plants, you could use ones that do not root directly into the substrate such as Anubias, Java Fern, and various mosses. Others such as hornwort and Anacharis should work in there.
No soil. It will only get pulled through the filter plate and back into the water column resulting in a cloudy mess.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 01:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Dare2smile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 57
Got it! Fresh, you're so good to me. <3

Also, am I correct in believing that an air tube is what the little spout behind the big tube is for?

Figuring this out without my dad nearby is not easy haha
__________________
Dare2smile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 02:33 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
See if there is a way to set it up to run in reverse (i.e. so the flow comes up through the substrate rather than flowing down through the substrate). Don't know if you will be able to do that with that particular filter. Yes, the air tube should connect to the little spout - if you can power it with something else it will do a much better job. Can you cut the big tube down and put a small powerhead on top of it?
__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 08:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Dare2smile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wy Renegade View Post
See if there is a way to set it up to run in reverse (i.e. so the flow comes up through the substrate rather than flowing down through the substrate). Don't know if you will be able to do that with that particular filter. Yes, the air tube should connect to the little spout - if you can power it with something else it will do a much better job. Can you cut the big tube down and put a small powerhead on top of it?

I'm very inexperienced with UGFs (this is my first! Exciting!). I have no idea how I'd turn it around or anything about a power head lol
__________________
Dare2smile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 08:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
This would work perfectly, it comes with many attachments and flow is fully directional and adjustable
http://www.amazon.com/AquaClear-Powe.../dp/B000256566
I would reccomended this as a substrate as it's a banging biomedia and woukd look pretty ok atop the ugf, marina offers small bags of colored gravel to supplement awesome...
Look forward to seeing this come together!
http://www.amazon.com/Seachem-Matrix.../dp/B0002A5VIO

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 07:10 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Dare2smile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
This would work perfectly, it comes with many attachments and flow is fully directional and adjustable
http://www.amazon.com/AquaClear-Powe.../dp/B000256566
I would reccomended this as a substrate as it's a banging biomedia and woukd look pretty ok atop the ugf, marina offers small bags of colored gravel to supplement awesome...
Look forward to seeing this come together!
http://www.amazon.com/Seachem-Matrix.../dp/B0002A5VIO

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app


Wow Brookster, that's some awesome stuff! When I clicked the link for the power head though, it looked entirely too powerful for what I've got. The fishbowl is only (an estimated) 2 gallons, so anyone I keep in there probably won't want his water churning around so much haha. But thank you for the substrate idea! I can look into that part definitely!
__________________
Dare2smile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 07:12 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
It's fully adjustable, you can knock it down to nothing and point flow ar surface!! I have it in a 5 gal.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 09:00 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Dare2smile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
It's fully adjustable, you can knock it down to nothing and point flow ar surface!! I have it in a 5 gal.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Oh okay! You don't think it'd be too big for a two gallon? The bowl is only ten inches tall by about six deep. Space is at such a premium.
__________________
Dare2smile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 09:45 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dare2smile View Post
Oh okay! You don't think it'd be too big for a two gallon? The bowl is only ten inches tall by about six deep. Space is at such a premium.
May be a bit large actually... the air pump seems the best option.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, substrate, ugf

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« Cheap | Pool sand »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UGF or no UGF KLehman72 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 27 04-05-2011 12:11 AM
ugf or not to ugf electrikat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 09-12-2004 10:07 PM
Loseing the UGF and substrate questions ostrichkiller Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-12-2004 09:23 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.