Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-11-2007, 02:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 68
Ugh Issue Number 19980909 :(

The pump is not working.

I filled the water up to the filtration chambers, switched the black foam with the filter floss, and put the media together in one chamber.

I plugged in the filter and it's making a stutterting sound and nothing is coming in or out. But I do not think it's broken because I felt my hand under into the pump and I can feel the water moving from it.

Suggestioms?
__________________

__________________
zebbyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 02:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Moved to the General hardware/equipment forum.

What kind of filter do you have? Did you check the impellar?
__________________

__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 03:30 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
If this is a HOB it could be because the loss of suction on the pump. I know that when I have to change filters out on my FW tank I have to make sure that the filter is full of water and sometimes have to even pour water into the intake tube area to get the suction going...
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 03:33 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 68
No, it's built in with my visioncube. I followed the instructions and filled the water equal to it. Should the water be over the pump and the part where the water is coming in? And I am thinking about taking all the media out then turning it on to see if it works?

*Sorry guys, I meant the pump or not the filter or if they are the same :P
__________________
zebbyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 03:36 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I don't know much about that...I would guess that the pump needs to be underwater to work properly though....can you post a pic?
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 03:45 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 68
Sure I'll try later, I don't know, is there maybe something blocking it? Would it be ok to take the media out and run the pump to see if that's the case?
__________________
zebbyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 08:17 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I don't see why not...I have several different HOB filters that I have run just for flow with nothing in them at all
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 08:34 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 68
Ok well I think I have figured the issue out. I think it is positioned wrong because when I moved around it would have a little water begin to come out. Here's a pic I took it out of the tank along with thte tube as well that the water is pushed through to go out. Could someone walk me through on how to get it in right?

And also, since this is a weak pump, how much force will I see to know that it is working right? Will there even be any bubbling at the surface?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg im000736_590.jpg (22.9 KB, 648 views)
__________________
zebbyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 09:17 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Well that is a definately a submereged pump. I expect it is around 80 to 90gph. I have a few pumps about that size and that is what they move. Is that a dial on the front that I'm seeing? IF it is you may want to make sure that it is opened up to allow the max flow through the pump. Make sure that the tube that connects to the pump is connected to the pump good. Have you tried just putting the pump without antyhing attached to it into the water and make sure that it is moving water?
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 09:47 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 68
No but I will try that now good idea! I have it on the max for it since it is a weak pump. And how do the two connect together?
__________________

__________________
zebbyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ugh.. *kicks self* Pleco Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-22-2006 01:31 PM
Ugh I give up! Puriti Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 24 08-07-2005 11:07 AM
Ugh, do you see what I see? reefrunner69 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-17-2003 04:50 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.