Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-05-2009, 09:18 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Cool.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:20 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquarium1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 8,617
Send a message via Skype™ to Aquarium1
I might not be able to afford 2 for a while but one is better than none. What do you think about this one for 2 filters: OPTI-UPS ES1000C / 8-Outlet / 1000VA / 700Watt / UPS at TigerDirect.com How long would i last for my AquaClear 70 and my Top Fin 30-60?
__________________

Aquarium1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:21 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
UPS power is not cheap. You might be best served to figure out what you absolutely can not live without in the case of a power outage. Plug that stuff all into one power strip and buy one of those kill-o-watt meters to figure out what your power usage is for those devices. You can then go to a ups manufacturers web site like APC for example (my choice). They pretty much all have calculators that will tell you how long you can supply that load with each model... Then get the plastic out!
__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:28 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquarium1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 8,617
Send a message via Skype™ to Aquarium1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SparKy697 View Post
UPS power is not cheap. You might be best served to figure out what you absolutely can not live without in the case of a power outage. Plug that stuff all into one power strip and buy one of those kill-o-watt meters to figure out what your power usage is for those devices. You can then go to a ups manufacturers web site like APC for example (my choice). They pretty much all have calculators that will tell you how long you can supply that load with each model... Then get the plastic out!
I looked on some websites and my AquaClear uses 6w but Idk about the other one. I'll keep looking.
Aquarium1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:32 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquarium1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 8,617
Send a message via Skype™ to Aquarium1
I sent Aqua Tech an email asking them.
Aquarium1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:34 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
Take a look at this site APC Online Wizard

Guess at your filter and heater load.
__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:38 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquarium1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 8,617
Send a message via Skype™ to Aquarium1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SparKy697 View Post
Take a look at this site APC Online Wizard

Guess at your filter and heater load.
It only goes up to 9 hours
Aquarium1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:39 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
That's kind of my point. And look at what it would cost for you to power your stuff for 9 hours.....
__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:42 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquarium1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 8,617
Send a message via Skype™ to Aquarium1
I might nerd it for days tho. What do you think about the one I picked out earlier? OPTI-UPS ES1000C / Outlet / 1000VA / 700Watt / UPS at TigerDirect.com
Aquarium1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:43 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquarium1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 8,617
Send a message via Skype™ to Aquarium1
Last year our power was out for 8 days.
__________________

Aquarium1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
supply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPS and GFCI and Power Interruption DallasFish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 08-31-2008 09:15 PM
ups-what's really important to power? want2findnemo General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 07-07-2008 06:41 PM
Uninterruptible Power Supply Discussion AquaJoe General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-17-2007 09:01 AM
moonlight power supply question jdizzle3id DIY Projects 18 03-20-2007 11:57 PM
Power supply question chris stevens Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 06-02-2006 07:50 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.