Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-03-2013, 04:35 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
GIZMOSPAZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 65
Thank you!

I like that your stand also doubles as a shoe rack. Very clever.
__________________

__________________
GIZMOSPAZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 09:26 AM   #32
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CatoeSc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth
Posts: 654
Just out of curiosity, why did you not want a canister filter? They do so much work for tanks that size and are so much quieter. I had to replace our canister and had a HOB on a 40 for about a month. I hated the noise. I can't imagine that as a permanent solution... Just curious.
__________________

__________________
SC
65 Gallon Planted
25 Gallon Saltwater
CatoeSc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 04:37 PM   #33
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Hello Gizmo,

Welcome to AA. My vote for your new 55 gallon (and the best of luck with that) in terms of power filtration would be an Aqueon QuietFlow 55/75 along with either an AquaClear 70 or 110.
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 04:40 PM   #34
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikem691 View Post
I have never had to prime any of my AC filters as long as the water level is with in 1" of the output. unless i do a water change but then all HOB's need to be filled back up.
No, not ALL HOBs -- the Aqueon QuietFlow line has an INTERNAL pump which is submerged inside the tank and water and the filter reprimes itself EVERY time the power is shut off. It's a great feature and I wish the AquaClears were like this; you state you never had to prime any of your AquaClears but I find that difficult to believe as that no matter where the water level sits upon fill up, like the other member mentioned it's a matter of these filters SITTING for one or more minutes without power/water that require them to be reprimed with water. However, my 110 model acts strangely sometimes, after some water changes starting up even though it's been longer than a minute the power is off while at other times refusing to start and making that "choking" sound that requires me to prime it...
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 04:42 PM   #35
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by GIZMOSPAZZ View Post
Here is Iso in his 10g.


Attachment 195961



Attachment 195962

Hopefully this works. I've never posted a pic on this website.
Hi Again Giz,

Iso is adorable! Congrats on a gorgeous member of your aquatic family!

I do notice -- unless it's just my eyes and/or computer monitor -- somewhat of a "bulge" on his side by the glass, just before his gills...does he exhibit this when you look at him in person?
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:03 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post
No, not ALL HOBs -- the Aqueon QuietFlow line has an INTERNAL pump which is submerged inside the tank and water and the filter reprimes itself EVERY time the power is shut off. It's a great feature and I wish the AquaClears were like this; you state you never had to prime any of your AquaClears but I find that difficult to believe as that no matter where the water level sits upon fill up, like the other member mentioned it's a matter of these filters SITTING for one or more minutes without power/water that require them to be reprimed with water. However, my 110 model acts strangely sometimes, after some water changes starting up even though it's been longer than a minute the power is off while at other times refusing to start and making that "choking" sound that requires me to prime it...
When doing a water change Yes I have to refill the filter with water for it to start. If I walk over to any of my tanks right now and unplug the filter wait a min. or an hour I can plug it back in and it will start on its own with no assistance from me. I can post a video of this if you like.
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:22 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
GIZMOSPAZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post

Hi Again Giz,

Iso is adorable! Congrats on a gorgeous member of your aquatic family!

I do notice -- unless it's just my eyes and/or computer monitor -- somewhat of a "bulge" on his side by the glass, just before his gills...does he exhibit this when you look at him in person?
It's just his coloration and the size of the pic that makes it look like a bulge. He's a happy, healthy little fish. He had an extreme case of fin rot when we got him. We nursed him back to health. You might be able to see how bad it was when we rescued him from this pic.


Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130903_172139.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	62.9 KB
ID:	196265
__________________
GIZMOSPAZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:23 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
GIZMOSPAZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by CatoeSc View Post
Just out of curiosity, why did you not want a canister filter? They do so much work for tanks that size and are so much quieter. I had to replace our canister and had a HOB on a 40 for about a month. I hated the noise. I can't imagine that as a permanent solution... Just curious.
We decided that we liked our current hob and wanted to get another one.
__________________
GIZMOSPAZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 07:49 PM   #39
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by GIZMOSPAZZ View Post
It's just his coloration and the size of the pic that makes it look like a bulge. He's a happy, healthy little fish. He had an extreme case of fin rot when we got him. We nursed him back to health. You might be able to see how bad it was when we rescued him from this pic.


Attachment 196265
Awesome! I was just worried that I saw something...but I am so happy that he's healthy and doing well!
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 11:32 PM   #40
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikem691 View Post
When doing a water change Yes I have to refill the filter with water for it to start. If I walk over to any of my tanks right now and unplug the filter wait a min. or an hour I can plug it back in and it will start on its own with no assistance from me. I can post a video of this if you like.
Strange; well, as I said, my 110 is very tempermental in that way...sometimes it will start up after a water change that may take 20 or so minutes, while other times it makes the "choking" noise, requiring me to pour water in to prime it...
__________________

__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.