Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-08-2013, 10:02 PM   #51
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by GIZMOSPAZZ View Post
You can see the "splashes" in the pic.
Yeah, that's why I was curious...

Quote:
We have the water level almost even with the water return.
Okay, so the return "wave" creates a slight "splash" into the tank water, yes?

The most frustrating thing I've encountered is that because I'm running two different kinds of HOBs on my tank -- an Aqueon QuietFlow 55 and AquaClear 110 -- and they both create different water return "orientations," I could never get these two filters to run the same when my water is filled back up after a change...in other words, if I keep the water level up to a point that the Aqueon is creating a nice, solid "ripple" of return water across the surface, then the AquaClear is way too low in terms of its "return splash" and the turbulence inside the tank near that filter is great...conversely, if I keep the water level so high that the AquaClear is the one creating the nice, tight, strong ripple across the surface, then the Aqueon's flow is nonexistent because the water height is too great to allow its "ripple" to form...

Quote:
We do have the speed of the filters at max though. I hope that's a helpful answer.
Just out of sheer curiosity -- is there a reason you're keeping them at max flow? Are you planning on reducing them once fish are in?
__________________

__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 10:17 PM   #52
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
GIZMOSPAZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post

Yeah, that's why I was curious...

Okay, so the return "wave" creates a slight "splash" into the tank water, yes?

The most frustrating thing I've encountered is that because I'm running two different kinds of HOBs on my tank -- an Aqueon QuietFlow 55 and AquaClear 110 -- and they both create different water return "orientations," I could never get these two filters to run the same when my water is filled back up after a change...in other words, if I keep the water level up to a point that the Aqueon is creating a nice, solid "ripple" of return water across the surface, then the AquaClear is way too low in terms of its "return splash" and the turbulence inside the tank near that filter is great...conversely, if I keep the water level so high that the AquaClear is the one creating the nice, tight, strong ripple across the surface, then the Aqueon's flow is nonexistent because the water height is too great to allow its "ripple" to form...

Just out of sheer curiosity -- is there a reason you're keeping them at max flow? Are you planning on reducing them once fish are in?
Yes, it seems to be more of a splash with the current water level. I'm sure if we played around with it, we would be able to get more of a ripple.

One of the reasons we decided to go with two of the exact same filters was to eliminate having the issue you are describing.

We just had it on max flow to prime the filters. Since we are doing a fishless cycle, we didn't really bother trying to find a good flow rate. We will probably adjust when we get our fish switched over. Since it takes av while to cycle a tank, we hadn't really thought about what we were going to leave it on.
__________________

__________________
GIZMOSPAZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 10:35 PM   #53
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by GIZMOSPAZZ View Post
Yes, it seems to be more of a splash with the current water level. I'm sure if we played around with it, we would be able to get more of a ripple.

One of the reasons we decided to go with two of the exact same filters was to eliminate having the issue you are describing.

We just had it on max flow to prime the filters. Since we are doing a fishless cycle, we didn't really bother trying to find a good flow rate. We will probably adjust when we get our fish switched over. Since it takes av while to cycle a tank, we hadn't really thought about what we were going to leave it on.
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:09 PM   #54
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,815
I run two AC50 HOB filters and to deal with the splash, I made some "lip extensions" for each:


It might be hard to see from the pics because of the algae/slime buildup. I cut the plastic strip that comes with glass tops and connect them to the output of the filter. Note: the ones that come with MarineLand glass tops are thin and easy to work with. The ones with the Aqueon tops are very thick and hard to cut.
Anyhow, after cutting them to fit the overflow lip, some bending will be needed to direct the flow along the surface. The part of the plastic that normally connects to the glass lid will connect to the filter's overflow lip. Sometimes it might be necessary to pinch that part with a pair of pliers to make it "stick" to the filter lip.

I also run one of these on filter in a tank in the bedroom and it is quiet.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:37 PM   #55
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
I run two AC50 HOB filters and to deal with the splash, I made some "lip extensions" for each:


It might be hard to see from the pics because of the algae/slime buildup. I cut the plastic strip that comes with glass tops and connect them to the output of the filter. Note: the ones that come with MarineLand glass tops are thin and easy to work with. The ones with the Aqueon tops are very thick and hard to cut.
Anyhow, after cutting them to fit the overflow lip, some bending will be needed to direct the flow along the surface. The part of the plastic that normally connects to the glass lid will connect to the filter's overflow lip. Sometimes it might be necessary to pinch that part with a pair of pliers to make it "stick" to the filter lip.

I also run one of these on filter in a tank in the bedroom and it is quiet.
Great idea and good pics, Fresh! If I still had the plastic edges from the glass tops I used to use (with this new Marineland tank I bought, it came with plastic dual hoods, not glass versa tops...but I had both the Aqueon AND Marineland glass tops in my last setup so I know exactly what you're referring to) I would definitely look into this idea with my 110...

I see you leave your flow control set to maximum...yes?
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:49 PM   #56
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post

Great idea and good pics, Fresh! If I still had the plastic edges from the glass tops I used to use (with this new Marineland tank I bought, it came with plastic dual hoods, not glass versa tops...but I had both the Aqueon AND Marineland glass tops in my last setup so I know exactly what you're referring to) I would definitely look into this idea with my 110...

I see you leave your flow control set to maximum...yes?
Yes, set at maximum. Some might view it as overkill on my planted tank (200 gph x2 on a 20 g long) but IMO the flow is spread out over a greater area and not as powerful or directed like a powerhead or canister output.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 01:07 AM   #57
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
Yes, set at maximum. Some might view it as overkill on my planted tank (200 gph x2 on a 20 g long) but IMO the flow is spread out over a greater area and not as powerful or directed like a powerhead or canister output.
I see...

Would you recommend, in general, leaving these AquaClear controls at max flow output?
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 01:54 AM   #58
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post

I see...

Would you recommend, in general, leaving these AquaClear controls at max flow output?
Depends on the situation. If the flow is too strong for the fish or disruptive to the plants and substrate, then I would say reduce it. Otherwise, let it run full throttle. Yes, reducing the flow will increase the amount of water being re-filtered, however, I am not to sure if this necessary.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 03:07 AM   #59
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
Depends on the situation. If the flow is too strong for the fish or disruptive to the plants and substrate, then I would say reduce it. Otherwise, let it run full throttle. Yes, reducing the flow will increase the amount of water being re-filtered, however, I am not to sure if this necessary.
Hmmm...something to think about...
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 11:32 PM   #60
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
GIZMOSPAZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 65
Perhaps we will keep it on max flow then. We'll see how our Iso likes it when and put him in and adjust accordingly.

In other news, we started seeing nitrites last night. Our cycle is on its way.
__________________

__________________
GIZMOSPAZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.