Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-31-2010, 09:04 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
lbannie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 465
Upgrading to Hydor Koralia's

I currently have a cheapo ebay powerhead which works fine, but it's big and bulky, kind of loud, and sometimes the suction cups let loose and I wind up with a sand storm! I'm thinking of buying a koralia 425. Would this be enough flow for my 30 gal tank? I have the current ph on the right side of the tank and on the left is the return line from the sump which puts out a good flow. Would 1 koralia 425 be enough?
__________________

__________________
lbannie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 10:24 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 33
That should be enough. If they don't take up to much space a couple 240s might be better to make the flow more chaotic.
__________________

__________________
ReefBreeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 01:23 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I agree with adding 2 of the 240's placed so they are forming an X pattern or directed at each other. Either way will give you the chaotic flow you want.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 01:30 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Moving to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 09:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
lbannie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 465
Just got 2 240's in!! I tested one out in the sink and it seems like not enough flow..... Do you think it will be ok? Or should I upgrade to 2 425's? I have a small window of time to return them....
__________________
lbannie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 10:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
2 k750s is what i would use in a 30. can't have too much flow!
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 10:53 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Gloomisboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 39
I have two 750 evolutions on my 46 gallon and a nano at the ready for any dead spots or slow moving areas. Flow is good, surface movement is good, and i havent had any problems with them.
__________________

__________________
Gloomisboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hydor, hydor koralia, koralia, upgrading

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydor CO2 dfmastin General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 06-28-2009 02:59 AM
Koralia's F/S jose7878 Archive 5 04-26-2009 03:55 PM
Hydor! kaz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 03-21-2006 05:27 PM
Hydor Flow? Jermz79 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 07-26-2005 06:43 PM
hydor bioflo scuba_steve Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-17-2004 12:44 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.