Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-30-2006, 01:21 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
UPS

Was just wondering what kind of UPSs you all use for back up power. I am planning on getting 2 for my new tank. One for the phs and one for the heaters. I am not in the market for a generator, yet. When I am, I will definitely make a new post.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 01:02 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
No ideas on this?
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 02:24 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 66
I don't use a UPS on my tank, but I have several for computers at work. I'd highly recommend an APC (www.apc.com). If you calculate your total wattage, you can plug it in at their website to find out how long each of their systems will keep you running.
__________________
rubikcube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 12:57 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
gheitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via MSN to gheitman Send a message via Yahoo to gheitman
I work for a computer reseller and would recommend APC as the best line of UPS units out there. I'm planning on getting a couple of them myself for my tanks. The models I want are the BR1500 for my fish room with seven tanks and the BE500R for my living room that has a single tank.
__________________
Gene Heitman - 12 tanks (11 freshwater and 1 saltwater), 206 gallons, 20+ species of fish/shrimp/snails, 52+ species of plants ... 10 years ago I just wanted 1 tank with some fish
gheitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 01:11 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
zacusmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 211
I have a bunch of APC 1500VA's and they work great. Though I've never had the need, you can even expand it with an add-on battery pack APC sells for it. I also have had good luck with the higher capacity Cyberpower UPS's.
__________________
zacusmaximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 11:58 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Cool, I bought one this weekend. I will be using it for my heaters and phs. One question. If I got the 300Watt one, and each heater is 150W, does that mean if I plug them both in, that will be all I can use?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 02:27 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 235
Yes, if both heaters are running then they consume 300 w total.

Also keep in mind that electric motors (like the ones in pumps) are bad on UPS's. I would not suspect a very long life on those units.

(Taken from a former member of the Geek Squad )
__________________
jamesrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 02:32 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Yeah, I kind of figured that. I only have two phs on one UPS. I also have my timer, for my lights on it, only problem there is the lights are 932W! LOL! I guess the only way that would work is if I am actually home when the power goes out, so that I can tunr them off....maybe I should rethink that set up. I just wanted a back up for the actual time, not the light, but I guess that is not such a big deal. I'll move it tonight and just leave the two phs on it.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPS and pumps DHCrocks General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 02-22-2009 12:44 AM
ups-what's really important to power? want2findnemo General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 07-07-2008 06:41 PM
UPS for Brownouts? ewolff Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 03-15-2006 02:00 PM
what do you think of these set-ups? dax29 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 05-03-2005 04:01 PM
Anyone use a UPS? Enki Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 11-22-2003 11:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.