Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-17-2013, 06:08 AM   #1
ted
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Honolulu HAWAII
Posts: 50
UPS Battery Backup for Ecotech Powerheads

Can I use a computer UPS battery backup for Vortech powerhead such as Cyberpower for computers? I think the powerheads are DC?
__________________

__________________
ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 03:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
A standard SOHO UPS outputs AC power, not DC power.

There is a Vortech battery backup available: Parts Store | EcoTech Marine
__________________

__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 08:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
octanejunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 461
You should be able to plug your low voltage transformer into a standard UPS, that should be fine. I have all my "critical" loads on computer type UPSes since I have these in abundance.

If you want to get fancy, read DIY, here are a few other suggestions:

Depending on the voltage needed, a CCTV camera power supply can be used for lighting in many cases (usually available in 12v or 24v DC) - many of these have the option to add a battery backup internally within the PS (12V7AH type battery like used in alarm systems). These power supplies are usually sold to power cameras in multiples of 4 (4 channel, 8 channel, 16 channel) in varying amperages (1amp, 2.5amp, 5amp) so you can power more than one device. I have used these transformers (power supplies) for low voltage LED lighting in stereo cabinets, under kitchen cabinets and counters, etc. I can't see why not fish tank lighting if already low voltage.

If you want to use a transformer with a timer, look at Intermatic (Malibu) lighting timers for low voltage landscape lighting.

Hope this helps
__________________
octanejunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ecotech, powerheads

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.