Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-25-2011, 07:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 67
Question Used Fluval FX-5 Question

I just purchased a used tank and fx5 filter from someone. I plan to put in my african cichlids from my old tank into this one. He had completely different fish (guppies). What do i need to do with the fx5? Should i rinse out the dirty sponges and replace the filter media with new media? Or do i need to get new sponges too?

Also what type of filter media works best with af. cichlids?
__________________

__________________
Matman1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 07:20 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
I would move whatever filter you have on them now with them when you move them.

Clean out the FX5 very well. I would set it up with biomedia (Seachem Matrix) filling the bottom two trays and use fine mechanical/polishing media in the top try. This would be one or both of Fluvals fine/plishing pads for the FX5, filter floss, or 100% polyester pillow stuffing crammed in as tight as possible.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 07:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
I would move whatever filter you have on them now with them when you move them.

Clean out the FX5 very well. I would set it up with biomedia (Seachem Matrix) filling the bottom two trays and use fine mechanical/polishing media in the top try. This would be one or both of Fluvals fine/plishing pads for the FX5, filter floss, or 100% polyester pillow stuffing crammed in as tight as possible.
Thanks for the quick response.

So i dont have to get new sponges for the FX-5, just rinse them out thouroughly?

When i decide to move my africans from my old tank, do i need to take the filter (Fluval 4 plus) out of that tank and set it up on the new tank before i put them in? If so how long should the fluval 4 plus run on the new tank before i put my africans in?
__________________
Matman1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 07:45 PM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
The filter should be moved at the same time as the fish.

If the sponges are in good condition you don't have to replace them. But they are cheap and last a long time, so if you want to replace them it wouldn't be a problem at all.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 08:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
The filter should be moved at the same time as the fish.

If the sponges are in good condition you don't have to replace them. But they are cheap and last a long time, so if you want to replace them it wouldn't be a problem at all.
Do i need to run the fx5 on the new tank before i put my fish in? If so how long should it run? I heard that the tank needs to cycle and so forth before i can put my fish in. The last thing i want to do is kill any of my fish.
__________________
Matman1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 09:32 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
The tank will be instantly cycled as soon as you move the filter over with the fish. Effectively all the nitrifying bacteria are in the filter so as long as it moves at the same time you should not have any issues.

The FX5 can start running the same day the fish and filter are moved, no need to run it in advance.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 09:48 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
The tank will be instantly cycled as soon as you move the filter over with the fish. Effectively all the nitrifying bacteria are in the filter so as long as it moves at the same time you should not have any issues.

The FX5 can start running the same day the fish and filter are moved, no need to run it in advance.
Even if the new tank is 78 more gallons than the old tank? My old tank was only 47g and this new one is 125g.
__________________
Matman1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 10:35 PM   #8
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Yes. A tank is cycled based on the waste production, which is based on the bioload (weight of fish plus food). A tank is not cycled based on volume. It will be like you did a very large water change.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 11:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
Yes. A tank is cycled based on the waste production, which is based on the bioload (weight of fish plus food). A tank is not cycled based on volume. It will be like you did a very large water change.
Ok thank you.

When can i safely remove the fluval 4 plus from the new aquarium so its only running on the fx-5? Or should i never remove it?
__________________
Matman1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 11:57 PM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
I would let it stay in for 2-4 weeks.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
african cichlids, filter, fluval, fluval fx-5, fluval fx5, media, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 gal stocking question and Fluval in/outlet placement sobersteve323 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 08-15-2011 12:14 PM
Fluval fx5 question Elitehunter1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 08-14-2011 09:22 AM
Fluval canister question barterking85 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 07-14-2011 10:54 PM
Fluval Canister Question sabrownfl General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 07-03-2011 01:22 AM
Question about the fluval E 200w Heater (LF error) FishShack Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 0 06-28-2011 03:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.