using a tank heater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sweetsuvvyb

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys...

Time for more learning!

I have never used a tank heater before (well, until yesterday). My apartment(s) have always been warm enough, and the tanks small enough (prior to getting the goldies, i've only ever kept bettas), that it wasn't necessary. But for the first time, yesterday morning, my tank was a little chilly (72), so I figured it was time to heat (since I'm keeping fancies, I'm following the advice i've read, and keeping them warmer than you would a non-fancy...plus I still haven't found a home for the gift pleco, and he needs to be toasty). Well, 1st mishap, the heater I had didn't work. Went to petco (i know, i know, but they're open sundays), and bought the only 50 watt they had in stock, marineland visitherm. So far, the thing kicks butt. However, I have a couple questions.

When I do water changes, I'm assuming I need to unplug it, and let it cool beforehand?

how hot does it actually get? can my fish burn themselves on it?

thanks guys!

You don't have to unplug it as long as your not removing so much water that the element is exposed IMHO. I don't LOL

And as long as your fish aren't lying on it, they should be fine. You can get a heater guard if you're concerned about it.

I don't think it gets hot enough for a fish to burn itself, but people have reported their fish getting stuck behind it for a bit, and the fish getting burn marks (which healed a few weeks later).

The pleco has been snuggled up against it (he WAS cold..poor guy!)...which is why i was concerned...but it seems like if it was burning him, he wouldn't be that cozy with the durn thing!

I my experince keeping turtles you should really let it cool off.
I've seen many a heater shatter, I go by "Better safe then sorry".