Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-06-2012, 10:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
NYgiantsRP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,872
Using fluval fx5 for water changes

So I just got a fluval fx5, I plan on setting it up in the next week. I was doing some research and found out that you can use the extra valve they supply and attach it to a hose, run it into your sink or outside and then plug in the filter and it will drain. Has anyone else done this? Also, could you reverse it and hook a hose from the sink tap to the input and fill the take? Anyone have experience with trying this? This is a freshwater setup.
__________________

__________________
NYgiantsRP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 09:24 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 24
I drain water out of my tank using a valve i added to the filter intake hose, it isn't a fx5 but i can't see how it would be much different, I refill using a large bucket and a hand powered water pump i got from a gardening store, it gives a nice flow and allows me to add any treatments to the bucket first. If you try that don't forget to sterilize the pump before first use
__________________

__________________
jambar44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 09:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 4
I bought an extra Fluval hose and connected it to the supplied extra valve.
It is fantastic for doing water changes. I connect it up to the pump outlet then pump out as much as I need to.
By shutting the inlet i can also pump out the contents of the filter allowing me to easily remove it for cleaning. I love my FX5.

To add water I use a dedicated garden hose straight from the tap, then treat the whole tank with prime to remove the chlorine etc.
__________________
Dwebkombi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 01:05 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CraigMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bear, DE
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwebkombi
I bought an extra Fluval hose and connected it to the supplied extra valve.
It is fantastic for doing water changes. I connect it up to the pump outlet then pump out as much as I need to.
By shutting the inlet i can also pump out the contents of the filter allowing me to easily remove it for cleaning. I love my FX5.

To add water I use a dedicated garden hose straight from the tap, then treat the whole tank with prime to remove the chlorine etc.
Where did you buy the extra fluval hose attachment? I can't find one!
__________________
CraigMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 03:00 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigMac

Where did you buy the extra fluval hose attachment? I can't find one!
I got mine from my lfs in Sydney Aust.

I would suggest your lfs or any fluval dealer as it is a spare part. You could also try your local hardware and pickup any 25 mm Int diameter hose.
__________________
Dwebkombi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, fluval fx5, fx5, val, water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.