Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-31-2012, 08:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
scooter2210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 38
Hi guys, just wondering if Lego bricks could be used as a bio media. I have a HOB filter which has enough space for me to add a few pieces of Lego behind the filters bio cartridge. I'm guessing the more surface area for BB to grow should be a good thing.
Let me know what you all think
__________________

__________________
scooter2210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:21 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
I don't think they would be very effective. With bio media you are looking for something with a lot of surface area. Lego bricks are solid, so your surface area is limited. Some examples of things that people use are: ceramic rings, bio-balls, nylon pot scrubbers, and lava rock.
__________________

__________________
13 tanks for a total of 755 gallons.
spkehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
scooter2210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 38
Ok. Thanks for that. I only thought of using them because I have limited space in my filter for extra media. I was cleaning my sons room when the idea came to me. Bio balls wouldn't fit and anything to small would just sink to the bottom. I like the pot scrubber idea. They will fit perfectly.
Do I need to wash them before
__________________
scooter2210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 08:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CleverBs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 2,210
I feel like they have better surface area then any bio ball would. Legos are hollow on the inside making it so bio would be twice as big as the space they take up....I'm only fear with them would be gunk building up inside the legos but I guess this happens with sponges and what not too
__________________
75G SPS Bare Bottom Reef
4g Nano LPS Reef
40g Fowlr
CleverBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 08:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
epiphysis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Centurion, South Africa
Posts: 225
I would suggest to give them a quick boil. Sometimes they come with an anti-bacterial agent that they don't mention on the packaging.

But after that it will be perfect.
__________________
Amateur chemist and amateur microbiologist.
epiphysis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 08:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheCrazyFishLady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,942
You want something porous. So, legos wouldn't be ideal because of their smooth texture.
__________________
55gPLANTED:Rainbows/Loaches/Garras|30gVIV:Crestie|20gL:Leos|10g:Pearl Fighter|5g:Betta|5gChi:Spark Gourami/Badis|5g:ADF|2.5g:Betta|2.5g:Betta|
TheCrazyFishLady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 09:01 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCrazyFishLady View Post
You want something porous. So, legos wouldn't be ideal because of their smooth texture.
Agreed. Legos are an interesting idea, but something like Fluval's Biomax has a much greater surface area due to all the pores in the material. In addition, Biomax are extruded tubes, which lets water pass through & around, and solid Legos would not allow for this.
__________________

__________________
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio, bio media, brick, ick, media

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ehiem pro350: does the filter media have to be replaced? goyasdog General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-15-2012 04:46 PM
Another AquaClear Media Question Coryluv General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 12-13-2011 07:32 PM
Help with Filter Media (Fluval 405) -=Jeff=- Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 09-05-2011 09:09 PM
Keeping Filter Media Alive for a Month michelle504 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 07-28-2011 08:35 PM
Media? Reygan2 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-28-2011 05:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.