Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-29-2005, 12:55 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
UV sterilizer set up question.

I am ready to buy a UV sterilizer. Alot of the 9 and 8 watts are rated for only 100-200 GPH. Does that mean i can't put them attatched to my mag drive 9.5 (9500gph) Or is that just the optimal running gph.

I saw a Gamma UV thats 8 watt and can handle up to 1,100 gph. would that be a better choice to connect to my mag drive?
(the gamma 15 watt 1,800 gph is the same price as the turbo twist 9watt 200 gph, $99.99)

I was looking at the turbo twist. It seems to be the most popular.

and just to understand correctly, you do want it sit in-line with you return pump right?

Just a few questions before i actually buy. I learned alot of lessons from past impulse buying.



Thanks guys.
__________________

__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 04:06 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 144
Send a message via AIM to IworkatPSP
Having it flow too quickly through the sterilizer will not give it the optimum effect. For turbotwists, the best way to go is to have your flow at about 80% of the recomended. We actually just hooked up 3 of them at my work. 1 9 watt, 1 18 watt, and 1 36 watt. We used mini pumps for the 9 and 18 watt, and a maxijet 600 for the 36 watt.

The way the turbotwist works, is inside the main chamber there are corkscrew grooves surrounding the UV bulb. As the water is pumped through it travels through the corkscrew and gets its exposure to the UV light. If it travels too fast, it won't kill off the bacteria and parasites as well as it would if it were traveling at the recomended rate.

So far, I'm pleased with the Turbotwist brand, but time will tell.

HTH,

Matt
__________________

__________________
IworkatPSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 09:51 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
You want a UV on its own pump, the mag 9.5 is way too fast for a UV to work and iMO would be a waste of $$ if you use it that way.
UV slow is better, they call it dwell time in the UV light, this is important for it to work correctly, If flow is too fast then it will not work. Pick up a small PH for the flow, there only $20-25.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 04:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
Ok. i see.
So which UV would be better to go with?
And i would connect the Power head to the sump and have it run throught the UV then back up to the tank of just right back into the sump?
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 477
exactly....I have a turbo twist and love mine...I have a pump in my sump to pump water through the UV, then it drains right back into my sump on the other side. I like it better this wasy because it is all completely concealed, although you could also do the same within the main.
__________________
Dr.Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 08:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I rna mine like Doc.. everything in the sump out of sight. That way if the power goes out there is on less thing draining back water from the tank.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 11:07 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
I use a 36w turbo twist. I have had no problems. I also have mine on a seperate pump concealed in the sump.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2005, 12:47 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
Good. Looks like i made the right choice then. I ordered the turbo twist.

Thanks guys.
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 12:52 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
What powerhead should i run with the turbo twist 9watt?

I don't own a powerhead. whats a good brand?
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 04:30 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
everyone likes the maxi jets from what Ive read.. I had some back about 10 years ago.. they were rock solid peices of equipment then and they dont seem to be changing that any time soon..

btw.. If I put a UV on my system I would plumb a loop for it in my closed loop.. tee off the closed loop plumbing for the in and out and put a valve in the middle between them on the closed loops main plumbing to controll the flow through the UV (a gate valve would make the adjustment very accurate)
I hope you get that.. If not Ill try to give you more info on it..
PM me if I miss a question about this..
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
set up, uv sterilizer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UV Sterilizer question robs88 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 12-31-2009 12:44 PM
uv sterilizer question Meredith General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 06-07-2005 10:54 PM
Uv Sterilizer question lyquidphyre General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 05-31-2005 11:31 PM
uv sterilizer question stumpy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 01-01-2005 12:14 AM
UV Sterilizer Question SaltwaterTeen Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-19-2004 09:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.