Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-02-2012, 01:46 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fish noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 145
Vortech MP10

Hello, I am starting my first saltwater tank. I had the LFS construct a custom 65 gallon acrylic tank made to fit a certain area in my home. The LFS also recommended the Vortech MP10 for it, so I ordered one of those as well.

Today, I received the tank, but have yet to get the MP10 because they accidentally sold the one I had reserved. However, I noticed the tank is nearly 3/4" acrylic. I read the MP10 will only work for up to 3/8" thick. Does anyone have experience with the MP10? Suggestions?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Fish noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 09:00 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Reeffanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa canada
Posts: 380
3/4 on a 65gal that extreme overkill IMO. I do hope it didn't cost you too much . Could have easily been done with 3/8. Anyway it may still work for you the magnets are pretty good on those things
__________________

__________________
Reeffanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:28 AM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:44 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fish noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 145
Can anyone suggest a powerhead that would be acceptable other than an Mp40? I have a 26x24x24 inch tank and want to keep Los, soft corals, and a few fish. Thanks!
__________________
Fish noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:54 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I am a big fan of koralia powerheads. I would really try out the mp10 as far as the magnet and see if it will hold, you won't beat the performance of that circulation pump.

Koralias have a suction cup and a magnet to keep them in place. For your tank I would most likely pick 2 koralia 750's and maybe a third one for the back wall if needed.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 12:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fish noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 145
Thanks for your suggestion, I'll take a look at those!
__________________
Fish noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 12:08 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Good luck!
let us know how it turns out, sounds like you are getting a nice setup made.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:14 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
If the magnet on the vortex will not hold, no way the magnets on those Koralias are going to. The vortex magnet is way stronger. If you can't use the vortex you may have to go to a tunz or seio pump. If you're having a custom acrylic tank made, why not have it drilled and install a closed loop? Then you don't have to worry about powerheads at all.
__________________

__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vortech MP10 Vs MP10w? fort384 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 02-26-2012 03:39 PM
Vortech pumps Squidy07 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 02-20-2012 12:32 PM
Ecotech radion xr30w and mp10 Jonty General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 12-28-2011 06:51 PM
Wanted: Vortech pump- MP10 or MP40 Mlord97 Archive 2 12-15-2011 12:15 PM
Wanted: Vortech pump Mlord97 Archive 0 12-15-2011 03:30 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.