Wanted: Quiet, affordable, 10 gal (or more) filter.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sugarloves

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok so Ive had it with my stupid aquaclear 150; the damn thing is way too noisey. I had a petcetera 10 gal started kit that came with an extremely quiet filter but I moved that to my 3 gal hex and put my 30 gal filter on my 10 gallon tank. Its so loud that I need to go out and buy I new one.
I live in Canada in a small town so all we have are the mom and pop lfs. Ive seen the aquaclears there but i dont want one of those. What is a good filter that I can put on my 10 gallon that I WONT be able to hear and that isnt too expensive; Im a student after all :) I wouldnt mind going a bit higher than a 10 gallon filter because it cant hurt to have more filtration and Im always picking up larger tanks at garage sales.

Something was not right with your AC150......I have 6 ACs, all 200s and 300s, running in my bedroom, and they make almost no perceptable noise.....neither do the other 20 ACs I have in my house, ranging from minis to 500s.

Well I bought the aquaclear at a garage sale in a box of tons and tons of aquarium crap that I paid 3 dollars for so i guess I cant really complain that its too loud. It seems to have a sort of vibration noise to it...as if the lid was rattling. Its not the lid (cuz ive taken it off) , and its not the cartridge holder....I just dont know. Ive taken all the components out and reinstalled them and its still really loud. So are you telling me that if I did buy anohter aquaclear it should be really quiet?

sugarloves said:
So are you telling me that if I did buy anohter aquaclear it should be really quiet?