Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-05-2010, 11:56 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: wayne, PA
Posts: 49
waste RO water?

waste RO water?
My R/O unit is discharging much more waste water than the 4:1 ratio i thought it should. Is this because it needs to be replaced? Mt TDS is still at 0.
__________________

__________________
miesenjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 12:00 PM   #2
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
If you haven't back flushed in awhile give that I try. Also, cold(er) water will throw off that ratio as well. One way to check on your membrane is to test some water coming out out of the RO and before the DI (if you have DI). It should be no higher than..err.. 7-ish
__________________

__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 12:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: wayne, PA
Posts: 49
no doubt about the temp. I do have DI and I have not backflushed it, I will give it a try when I get home. my tds is around 0 to 1
__________________
miesenjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 12:14 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
I make mine out in my tool shed and yes in the winter it takes three times as long to make water.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 12:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: wayne, PA
Posts: 49
melosu58, it takes 3 times as long, but is the waste water coming out 3 times as fast?
__________________
miesenjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:48 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
I have my waste water piped out to the yard where it waters the ground and grass. I dont know if it`s three times as fast on the waste water because it goes through the membrane much slower.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:52 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dezso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 250
I use a "Zero" water waste system, it push the unused water back to the hot water pipe. One major disadvantage I find is, its coll down my hot water, so I only use it to make 20G water when the dishwasher is on or when we take a bath/shower.
Also I have installed a 50 feet coiled copper pipe b4 the RO unit fresh water inlet, so the warm/hot water dont demage the membrane. Usually makes 20G water in 4-6 hr.
__________________
dezso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 03:53 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
I just run my waste water into my washing machine and when I have enough water I just wash some cloths.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 03:19 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dezso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 250
WOW, My wife would like you very much :p
Since I got this unit she refuse to cook with tap water , she even want to do dishes with RO water. :p:p:p
__________________
dezso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 12:37 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
I didnt even know they had that. I will have to get one. I hate wasting water. Here, we barely get to water our yards much less make water. It can cost as much as $8 a gallon!!!! Thats from the city. The more you use the more it costs. I have an ro unit but cant run it. I buy water from a store that gets a busness discount. I have had a thousand dollar water bill (just water not including electricity). Can't take too many of those.
__________________

__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro water, waste

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what do you do with your waste water? shrek_vn2002 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 11-29-2008 05:14 PM
RO / DI -- Water waste-- maybe not -- How about this ????? SKEET General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-11-2006 12:23 AM
RO/DI water system - waste water output jmc Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 07-01-2004 05:24 AM
R/O Waste Water Bearfan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 06-09-2004 05:50 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.