Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-21-2015, 11:48 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: anderson s.c.
Posts: 82
I always leave my filter off for a few minutes after water change to give the prime time to do its thing
__________________

__________________
buffalochip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 06:56 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
Thought I'd throw this into the mix: you could get a larger container to use to pre-treat / age your water. Then use a small pump to get it from the container to the aquarium. Some people use 55 gallon Rubbermaid trash bins or 55 gallon plastic barrels. You just need to be certain that there's no chance of chemical or biological contamination... So buying a used on is risky.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 07:31 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyne View Post
Thought I'd throw this into the mix: you could get a larger container to use to pre-treat / age your water. Then use a small pump to get it from the container to the aquarium. Some people use 55 gallon Rubbermaid trash bins or 55 gallon plastic barrels. You just need to be certain that there's no chance of chemical or biological contamination... So buying a used on is risky.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
^This^++
I have 4@32 g and 1@44 g Rubbermaid garbage cans(on wheels).
Prepping water besides being more efficient also allows it to out gas and adjust to match the water in the tank.
__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
https://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/auct...sp&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2015, 03:57 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
I have a dozen aquariums all 60+ gallons up to 125 gallons and have been using prime for many years. I use pythons to change the water and just dose for the entire tank volume and let the water flow right in and have never lost a fish through a water change. Personally I would be more worried about the incoming water characteristics (Temperature, PH, Nitrates) then worrying about Prime doing its thing.


I leave my canister filters running during water changes and I usually do 50% or more whenever I change the water. I just do not run the new water in right next to the filter intakes. On tanks that require more than one capful of Prime I pour the prime in on each end to spread it around faster.


Seachem says that Prime works instantly upon contact. I will take their word for it.
__________________
jcahow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2015, 04:16 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Daven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Saskatchewan (Canada)
Posts: 492
I worried about this as well when i first got my 75 gallon. I followed the advice of filling straight from the tap and treating with enough aquaplus declorinator to treat the whole tank. I go through the treatment bottles fast, but id rather overdose and be safe then run the risk of it not being as effective. I also let the water run through a med size jar that i put a digital temp reader probe in so i can set the temp to exactly what the tank is. I didnt get a python and instead simply made an attachment to connect to my tap with a valve that then can connect to my vinyl hose. I set the temp then close the valve and then set it up in the tank to fill at the same temp. Im a plumber by trade so i just couldnt bring myself to just buy one lol Ive never noticed any issues from my fish doing it this way
__________________
Daven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 08:17 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 5
Thanks everyone for all the replies!
__________________

__________________
Batusi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, changing, question, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing from fresh water to salt water!! Jj49er Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 0 09-03-2012 12:26 AM
Water changing question 99RedSi Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 11-12-2004 08:34 PM
When adding water to the tank/changing the water Onecell Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 20 11-08-2004 01:39 PM
changing water without changing temperature hashbaz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-31-2004 10:51 PM
Water changing question lyquidphyre Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 12-16-2003 04:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.