Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-23-2005, 10:13 AM   #21
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Maybr you should describe your whole setup You have a HOB overflow supplying your sump and a homemade overflow supplying the frag tank? I doubt this is a good idea.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 10:17 AM   #22
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Kukki: If you pump is supplying 300 gph and the overflow can handle 600, you don't need to have any valve or T on the lines. If you are getting bubbles, check the area of the sump where the pump is. If you have bubble there, you will get them in the tank. Might need a bubble trap in the sump.

Or you might be getting air in the plumbing.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 10:29 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 248
Send a message via AIM to JohnNLuc
ellisz thats correct I have a HOB overflow supplying my sump and a hodemade overflow supplying the frag tank.
JohnNLuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 10:47 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I see nothing but trouble with a homemade overflow like that. Get another HOB overflow and you won't have any of these issues.
I see a flood when a power outage happens and your not home to mess with the valve. I wish you luck..
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 12:14 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 248
Send a message via AIM to JohnNLuc
Two overflows? one for the sump and one for the frag tank? isint that gonna be a little unsightly? What other options do I have to getting it plumbed? What do others do as far as this if they have both a sump/fuge and a prop tank?
JohnNLuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 01:28 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: louisville, ky
Posts: 88
Send a message via ICQ to kukki
JohnNLuc ~ seaham358 is right, right when the power goes out and that homemade overflow breaks, when the power comes back its not gonna have any way of saying primed and your tank is gonna flood (if not before the power comes back on in a diff tank)... if you still wanna DIY id try one of the overflows with the specimen containers that are in the DIY forum - but the flow rates might really vary, id just buy another =\

ellisz ~ my return pump does not shoot any bubbles back and i do have a bubble trap in the sump, its only when the water is low in the overflow, if i do open it all the way thats when it starts sucking air w/water into my overflows plumbing and bubbles into sump

so thats why i have the ball there, to keep the bulkhead completely submerged... i thought of trying to add something over top the bulkhead like a durso but only to keep the waterlevel alittle higher in the overflow, i put a extra 1" elbow fitting over top of it, and it stopped sucking air through, and removed it and it stayed fine, but when everything gets shut off and it goes back down, it starts all over again, so i just added that valve

i know i shiouldnt have it on there, the bubbles were making me angry tho :P
__________________
~kukki
kukki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 04:31 PM   #27
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Don't you technically have 2 overflows now? One just does not have the box. I run my frag tank from my sump and gravity feed the water back into the sump.

I would think it would work but if it is hard to get set right, then it is an accident waiting to happen.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 05:48 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: stockton CA
Posts: 164
Quote:
I have a HOB overflow supplying my sump and a hodemade overflow supplying the frag tank
no offense, but you need someone in your area to help you with your setup or you need to read more before you do anything else
__________________
Saltwater Aquarium Enthusiast (sôltwôtr -kwâr-m n-thz-st) - One bound in servitude as the property of a person, household or object.
Synonym - Happiness in slavery
juskeepswiming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 11:14 PM   #29
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Kukki: Do you have a standpipe in the overflow box? A durso or stockman are good setups.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005, 01:46 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: louisville, ky
Posts: 88
Send a message via ICQ to kukki
ellisz ~ nah i dont .. i was considering it but i just tossed a 90 degree 1" left over elbow i had over the bulkhead and that stopped the bubbles, its not the sound because its pretty quite just the bubbles

but after i tweaked the ball valve and took off the elbow { so now its just the bulkhead and the filter sponge thing that goes around it, its not sucking any air or making any noise

i still might make one so i can keep the valve open all the way, but have not had a chance to play with it, been working on my truck :P
__________________

__________________
~kukki
kukki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, water flow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Water Chemistry - Not a NOOB, just STUMPED! dinokath Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 04-11-2009 06:14 PM
Cloudy water - I'm stumped!!!!! SDMac74 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 04-10-2009 01:32 AM
how much water flow? mle421 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 01-17-2005 09:52 PM
Too much water flow? Ayesha97 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-19-2004 07:19 AM
water flow pm64971 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 09-08-2003 03:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.