water level wont settle in sump

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

s10469

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I got a problem with my setup. I got a 90gal. tank and i built my stand myself.I got a reefmaster sump/refugium filter system with a hobs? overflow box. I set it up in my garage for a week so i could test the stand and plumb in my filter system. I turned on the filter pump to get things going and it ran fine(quiet, no air traps, a good flow), but the water level never settled in. It would rise, and i would adjust the shutoff valve, and it would fall. I got to the point where i was only adjusting the valve .010 of an inch at a time with dramatic results which cant be right. I went for about 8-10 hours of this on and off adjusting, and it would seem to settle for about 10-15 min. then it would gradually rise or fall. I got to tell you it was pretty frustraiting. I only had hose water in my tank, and i gave the water 5 days to warm up thinking that could have something to do with it, but still failure. I was thinking it was the pump, maybe i got a cheaper one with wider tolerences( a set rpm +/- 20 rpm or something like that). It came with the filter system, but i got 5ft. of head pressure(3000gph. at 0ft.-325gph at 5ft)possibly a turbulence problem in the pump? I dont have any experience with this kind of filter system, so i dont know where to trouble shoot other than replacing the pump. Everything else seems to be pretty basic. Before i invest in a better and bigger pump is there anything else it could be? Sorry about the long story just trying to give you all the info. i can. Anybody got any ideas?

what shut off valve are you adjusting? what are you running for a main pump? how much gph? do you have a check valve after the main pump on the return to the tank?

How many gph can the HOB overflow you got handle?