Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-21-2008, 10:08 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
wavemaker question

I bought a hydor korelia 3 online for 35 shipped. I heard from someone these aren't good for use with wavemaking devices. Has anyone had experience with this?
__________________

__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 12:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
I have no personal experience, but hydor koralia's have mellow flow so with a wave maker it wouldn't rush the water around too much like a wave as much as a Maxi-jet. With a maxi-jet its like a blast from a water cannon the Koralia is more like the propeller of a motor boat. different flow patterns and strengths. Just a thought however I have no experience with it.
__________________

__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 12:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
the hydor has a flow adjuster right?
__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 02:16 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
No flow adjuster and do not put these on a wavemaker. I shut them down 1x/wk for feeding and sometime the impeller needs a push before it start up again (not with a finger).
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 03:41 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
There are a couple of pumps similar to the Koralias that can be used on wave makers. The tunze Nanostream 6055 or the Vortech (which comes with it's own "wave" style maker) Starting and stopping a Koralia is not a good idea.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 03:59 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
I start and stop a Koralia once every day for feeding. Been doing it for 6 months? No issues here, although I have heard of others having issues with them getting 'stuck'. Think maybe that was the first batch and there have been improvements made?
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 04:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
i picked it up because it was cheap (like 30 bucks) but i want to eventually get a wavemaker in the future when i have more money to burn
__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 11:27 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Starting and stopping it once a day for feeding is a lot different then starting and stopping it several times a minute for a wave maker. They are great pumps for flow but not made to be used on a wave maker.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 01:17 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy953 View Post
Starting and stopping it once a day for feeding is a lot different then starting and stopping it several times a minute for a wave maker. They are great pumps for flow but not made to be used on a wave maker.
Yeah... sorry. Forgot the original question!

However, depending on the start/stop cycle of the wavemaker, there's really no commercially available powerhead that's really made for that type of duty cycle. That's why I've normally seen MaxiJets recommended for wavemakers... because they're cheap and easily replaceable!
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 12:14 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Tunze makes several models that are designed for wave making. They are very expenisve and require the Tunze controller (also very expenisve). As Ziggy said, Vortech is also making an interesting model with the power source outside the tank and a wireless wavemaker controller. It cost $419.99 at the doctors. Both are considerably more than a Koralia.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wavemaker

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wavemaker ryshark General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 07-28-2008 02:16 PM
Question on wavemaker and LFS Susie Q Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 03-21-2008 01:54 PM
Wavemaker Question SkinnyPete Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-10-2005 04:15 PM
Wavemaker question jbem2004 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 10-06-2004 05:32 PM
Powerhead/Wavemaker question Brisc0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-03-2004 07:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.