wavemaker question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mandown123

Aquarium Advice Freak
I bought a hydor korelia 3 online for 35 shipped. I heard from someone these aren't good for use with wavemaking devices. Has anyone had experience with this?

I have no personal experience, but hydor koralia's have mellow flow so with a wave maker it wouldn't rush the water around too much like a wave as much as a Maxi-jet. With a maxi-jet its like a blast from a water cannon the Koralia is more like the propeller of a motor boat. different flow patterns and strengths. Just a thought however I have no experience with it.

No flow adjuster and do not put these on a wavemaker. I shut them down 1x/wk for feeding and sometime the impeller needs a push before it start up again (not with a finger).

There are a couple of pumps similar to the Koralias that can be used on wave makers. The tunze Nanostream 6055 or the Vortech (which comes with it's own "wave" style maker) Starting and stopping a Koralia is not a good idea.

I start and stop a Koralia once every day for feeding. Been doing it for 6 months? No issues here, although I have heard of others having issues with them getting 'stuck'. Think maybe that was the first batch and there have been improvements made?

i picked it up because it was cheap (like 30 bucks) but i want to eventually get a wavemaker in the future when i have more money to burn

Starting and stopping it once a day for feeding is a lot different then starting and stopping it several times a minute for a wave maker. They are great pumps for flow but not made to be used on a wave maker.

Starting and stopping it once a day for feeding is a lot different then starting and stopping it several times a minute for a wave maker. They are great pumps for flow but not made to be used on a wave maker.

Yeah... sorry. Forgot the original question!