Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-02-2010, 09:38 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 366
wavemakers

I've been doing a little research on making waves in my tank. It seems that there are quite a few options. The two I was looking at were either the Hydor WaveMaker or the Ecomarine Vortech series. Two different ends of the scale I guess. Does anyone use either of these units? How does making waves affect the tank's structure/integrity? Does it put stress on the glass joints? Is it more prone to fail?

With the vortech do people get more than one head? I've seen videos where there are waves made with only one head.

Thanks...Steve
__________________

__________________
sdergar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 09:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
Yes, a wave maker will put more stress on the tank and yes, it makes the tank more prone to failure. However, a properly made aquarium is designed with a significant factor of safety built in and should be able to handle these added stresses with no problem. If you have a large tank on a poorly made stand that puts stress and torsion on the glass, the wave maker might be the straw that breaks the camel's back, but it shouldn't affect an aquarium that's level.
__________________

__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 02:17 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 79
I use the SCWD. Switching Current Water Device. This thing is AWESOME! No electricty and awesome wave movement and not expensive. Use a pump, some hose and or pvc pipe and instant waves
__________________
waynotcars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 02:44 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 366
Thanks
__________________
sdergar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 12:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Totally Agree with waynotcars, about the SCWD. Its about $40 and all you have to do is attached to your current water pump.
__________________
Denster37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wavemaker

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1 or 2 wavemakers? 0000 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 06-09-2010 10:11 AM
wavemakers and powerheads Jaybird General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-09-2009 02:20 PM
wavemakers/powerheads rngrjt Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 06-06-2006 09:15 AM
**Wavemakers what do you think??** xxnonamexx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-16-2005 10:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.