Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-07-2011, 08:12 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rokuzachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 625
Way to go, Aquaclear!

So after ages of dedicated service from the brand, I had a major problem on my hands tonight.

The filter destined for transfer into my newest tank to help the cycling process stopped. I happened to walk by and check on things before getting ready for bed, and good thing I did. The filter had completely stopped!

I checked the power. Then I checked the motor. Very, very hot. I feel like I'm lucky the **** thing didn't catch on fire. A good portion of the media in the box had dried out too, unfortunately. After fiddling with it... I got it to work again.

The problem? Somehow, and I have no idea how, during its normal operation, the impeller rose to the top of the shaft and had gotten stuck there and wasn't spinning. In the end all I had to do was re-seat it, but I'm still probably out a lot of seeded media because of this. Hope it doesn't do it again while I'm asleep.

Why you gotta be like that, Aquaclear?
__________________

__________________
Rokuzachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 09:16 AM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
One of mine did that after I first got it (used). It was already a couple years old and apparently the guy who had it never cleaned it out. I scrubbed the impeller and the motor out with a brush and it never did it again. Something you may want to do just to be on the safe side.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 09:49 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
I've got one AquaClear that sometimes doesn't start after a PWC. I just have to poke the impeller with a filter brush to get it going.
__________________
ďA man's errors are his portals of discovery.Ē
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 01:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Durvish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJim View Post
I've got one AquaClear that sometimes doesn't start after a PWC. I just have to poke the impeller with a filter brush to get it going.
Same here. My Aquaclear20 has done that a few times. I do the same as BigJim to get it started again.
Durvish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 12:06 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cumberland, MD
Posts: 2,444
Along with cleaning the impeller (and the impeller well) you should also check the impeller and shaft for wear. Hold the impeller up to the light and see if the hole is round and uniformly sized for the shaft. If you can't get a good look down the length of the shaft pull it out with a pair of pliers. IME the shafts seem to wear down quicker than the impellers, and it's the first thing I check on a used filter.
__________________
toddnbecka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 12:15 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,286
I have an ac30. Ive never had this problem.
maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 12:21 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
Word to the wise, always inspect pumps routinely for corrosion, internal parts cleanliness, debris, etc. No pump stays minty fresh forever
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 12:29 AM   #8
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
^I think Kurt can attest to that... great advice
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquaclear 50 Rosenweiss Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 26 03-30-2011 04:16 PM
Aquaclear 50 black hills tj Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 04-16-2007 01:03 PM
Just got my AquaClear richiestang_78 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 17 05-01-2006 12:33 AM
Aquaclear 50 dharris General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 12-01-2005 03:43 PM
AquaClear 70 AquaJoe General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 23 10-29-2005 09:49 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.